Swanky Chocolate Pie

Swanky Chocolate Pie…so rich and delicious

Swank/Swanky: fashionably elegant (thank you Merriam-Webster on-line dictionary!)

In Montreal, there is a restaurant called L’Express (The Express).  It is a very swanky French restaurant, with a very swanky clientele to boot.  I’ve had the pleasure of eating there 2-3 times in my life (restaurant opened in 1980).  As you can imagine the food is amazing, the chef is grandiose, the service…well sorry but the service is sort of so-so…  On top of it all, this restaurant is so cool and hot (can one be both?) that it doesn’t even has sign outside, nothing that says: “restaurant here!”…so bottom line: “it is so happening that if you know where it is…then you know!”

Conclusion: this makes my blood boil!  That is absurd.

OK, I don’t mean to complain but my theory on food is simple: everyone should have access to all food and recipes.  That’s why I love to share recipes with everyone.  If it’s good why should I be the only one able to make it?

So, in one of my mom’s magazines I found a recipe from L’Express for their famous Tarte au Chocolat.  It is pretty darn good.  I’m sharing it today because I can and I will!  Believe me if I can get my hands on their lamb or duck recipes, I will shout it from the roof top of….my chicken coop!  Because I am NOT swanky!

Ingredients:

1 store bought pie dough

1 1/4 cup cream

2/3 cup milk (I had 2%)

Dark chocolate (semi-sweet) 10-ounces (don’t use sweet or milk chocolate, it will change the taste and texture)

1 egg, beaten

How to:

Preheat oven to 325F

Using a 9-inch pie plate, lay your pie dough on your plate, lay a piece of parchment paper and add pie weights.  If you don’t have them you may use dry beans.  This is called blind-baking your pie. (see definition here: blind-baking) Bake in your preheated oven for 15 minutes, until your dough is golden.

Blind-Baking…I did put parchment paper under the weights…forgot to take another pic!

Increase your oven temperature to 400F

In a large pan, on medium heat bring your cream and milk to a gentle boil.  Stay put, please learn from my mistake, milk and cream will boil over in a FLASH!  When you are at the boiling point, with your dairy that is…not your family 😉 …add your chocolate, whisking constantly to gently melt it.  Still whisking add your beaten egg.  Trust me you want to be whisking otherwise you will have  scrambled eggs and milk chocolate….yuck!  Pour your ganache carefully in your pre-baked pie shell.

Chocolate pie ready for the oven

Bake in your preheated oven for 15 minutes.  The center of your ganache will still be creamy.  Once your pie is out of the oven and cooled, put your pie in the refrigerator for 12-24 hours.

Fresh out of the oven…look at that beautiful rich color!

When ready to eat bring your pie to room temperature for about 30 minutes before serving.  Dust with cocoa powder and serve with lightly sweetened whipped cream.

So delicious, rich and creamy…perfect!

Printer friendly: Swanky Chocolate Pie

Peace and Swank,

Isabelle

Also linked on:

9 thoughts on “Swanky Chocolate Pie

  1. Wow! It looks delicious, decadent and delightful! A chocolate dream…thanks for sharing this recipe. We have the same philosophy on sharing recipes!

  2. I am just reminding you that I only live 5 minutes from you, so I am always available for taste testing. 🙂

  3. Love, LOVE chocolate pie… but especially SWANKY Chocolate Pie … definitely luxurious. Isabelle, you inspired me so much this morning (didn’t have time to comment then) that I wore pearls to the office, even though it was “casual” day. See what you started. 🙂
    Have a fabulous weekend!
    ~ Kim

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

