Lemon Pasta with Chicken and Pine Nuts

This is inspired by an email I received the other day from my friend Kim at A little lunch.  She mentioned that her kitchen looked like an air-traffic-control center trying to coordinate bowls and pans, stuff in and out of the oven.  I could completely relate.  Often when I have people over for dinners or barbecues…or just because, I tend to decide on a menu that leaves me no room, sort of speak.  Instead of choosing a few items to bake and some to grill, I choose 5 items to bake or everything to grill.  I’ve been in the “having” people over business for many moons now…one would think I’d know better!

I keep learning my lessons! Everyday I learn and learn…

So for tonight’s dinner, I decided to really think this through.  Make a few items ahead of time, prep and marinate in the afternoon.  I should really only have to grill a few things.  Good to go!

Lemon Pasta with chicken and pine nuts

To make my life even easier I am making a favorite of mine;  Lemon Pasta with chicken and pine nuts.  I found this recipe in my Bon Appetit magazine back in July 2000.  I absolutely love this recipe.  It is easy to make and always a crowd pleaser.  This salad can be served chilled or at room temperature.

Ingredients:

2 tablespoons plus 2/3 cup canola oil or vegetable oil (in a pinch I use olive oil)

3/4 pound skinless boneless chicken breasts

12 ounce lemon-pepper fettucine or regular fettucine (linguine, or spaghetti works)

2 1/2 cups snow peas cut into matchstick-size strips

3/4 cup pine nuts, toasted

3/4 cup chopped fresh Italian parsley (I prefer basil)

3 tablespoons fresh lemon juice

2 1/2 tablespoons Dijon mustard

How to:

Here are my snow peas:

Snow peas…matchsticks size!

Heat 1 tablespoon oil in large nonstick pan over medium heat.  Add chicken and cook until no longer pink.  Set aside and let chicken cool.  Once cooled cut into 1/4-inch-thick strips.

Cook pasta according to directions on the box.  Once cooked toss with 1 tablespoon oil.  Add your chicken, snow peas, pine nuts and parsley (or basil in my case).  Toss ingredients together well.  Set aside

In a medium bowl whisk your lemon juice and mustard.  Slowly add your remaining 2/3 cup oil in a stream while whisking constantly.  Salt and pepper to taste.  Toss pasta with dressing, serve cold or at room temperature.

So good and easy as can be:

Taste test…delicious

Printer Friendly: Lemon Pasta with Chicken and Pine Nuts

Peace and Planes,

Isabelle

P.S. I also linked this recipe on Julie Eats & Treats…go check out her blog🙂

Here is the link: Julie\’s eats and treats

And also here:

8 thoughts on “Lemon Pasta with Chicken and Pine Nuts

  1. I hate you for making my stomach growl at 6:12 AM. You are terrible.

    Thank you, Isabelle.

    Pasta for breakfast sounds amazing.

    Never stop.

  2. Sounds like you had this gathering perfectly coordinated, especially with this salad! I salute you with a glass of iced Chardonnay.🙂 Air traffic control over and out.

  3. This is the first thing I ever tasted of yours. You brought it to a pitch in and I loved it!! I was waiting — hoping I would get the recipe.

    Love ya – your wonderful!

  4. Pingback: Favorite Recipes - Daily Dish Magazine~Daily Dish Magazine

  5. Great recipe Isabelle.. Now to get my hubby to eat pasta so that I can make it… may have to wait until we get company🙂. Thanks for linking up to Foodie Friends Friday and to let you know that I picked this as my host favorite

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

