Hot Water and a Salad

No, don’t worry I am not about to post about how to boil water.  I will however tell you a story that might put me in some….

A while back, a friend of mine was telling another friend about how she had just returned from her parents house.  Much to her dismay, her mother was putting ice…yes ICE in her wine.  She was shocked.  I was just standing by, minding my own business but I could feel Matt’s eyes on me.  I could even hear his “inside” laughter.  Because as you would have guessed it….I put ice in my wine…a lot.

To my defense…no wait a minute….it’s my business, it’s my glass of wine, I like it cold!

OK, so I know people who keep their red wine in the fridge.  I drink mine at room temperature.  I now like my margaritas with a splash of light beer (it tones the sweetness down).  My friend Janine sometime drinks her wine with beer in it, I think they call it a “shandy” in Australia….and she KNOWS wine, she sells wine for living!  She has never been on my case about putting ice in my chardonnay….she doesn’t care because it’s my drink!

My point is: do what you want, drink it the way you like it and eat it so it makes you happy!

Chicken Ramen Salad

Chicken Ramen Salad

Here is something about doing the same as everyone else:  Chicken Ramen Salad.  I love this salad.  I have been to several parties where people have brought it and yet I am always unable to get a recipe from whoever brought it.  So I made up my own!  I guess, I am still not doing the same as everybody! 😉

Ingredients:

5-6 cups Cole Slaw; make your life easy go ahead and get the bagged stuff.  Also I sometime will use Broccoli Cole Slaw.

2 chicken breasts cooked and shredded (about 3 cups)

3 green onions finely chopped

2 packages Chicken Ramen Noodles, broken or crushed but not cooked

1/3 cup slivered almonds

Dressing ingredients:

1 packet Chicken Ramen Noodles flavoring (if you really like it you could use 2 but it is LOADED with salt…be careful)

1/3 cup canola oil (or your favorite but not olive oil)

1/4 cup rice wine vinegar

2 tablespoons sugar

1 tablespoon soy sauce (I use low sodium)

1 tablespoon sesame oil (optional)

1 tablespoon pepper

How to:

In a large bowl mix all you salad ingredients.  Set aside.

For the dressing: In a medium bowl add your packet (or 2) of Ramen Seasoning, vinegar, sugar, soy sauce and pepper.  Using a whisk slowly add your canola oil and mix well.  Finally add your sesame oil (if using) and whisk well again.

Pour your dressing over your salad and toss to cover everything.  I like to make this salad at least 1-2 hours prior to eating it.  The dry Ramen will not get soggy that fast but all the flavors will blend together nicely.  The salad is also delicious the next day but by then your noodles will have definitely softened…still good…in my opinion! 🙂

My taste test portion...before serving it to my guests!

My taste test portion…before serving it to my guests!

Printer Friendly: Chicken Ramen Salad

Peace and Ice-Cube,

Isabelle

Also linked on:

7 thoughts on “Hot Water and a Salad

  1. While I don’t drink ice in my wine – I love the salad recipe. It may not be the same, but if they were all the same, we’d only have one salad! Great job and fun, fun post!

  2. I agree Isabelle, I like my wine COLD! And ice cubes don’t offend me because of it!
    A shandy is generally half beer, half 7-up/Sprite … but whatever works is my motto!
    PS. Love this salad, thanks!

  3. Yet another thing we have in common, Isabelle — ice in our wine! — can you hear my cubes clinking?! 🙂 Also, the line about your hubby’s “inside laughter” made me LOL — you two were meant to be, that’s all there is to it.

    P.S. LOVE the “original” Ramen Salad, but your version sounds yummier!

  4. It’s my life and I’ll do what I want! ~smile~ I said that a lot growing up. lol Drink your drink, eat your food, and live your life the way it suits you..and only you! ❤

    Love this! I've never seen it before but you can bet, I'll be making it! I have those noodles in my pantry, too! May I have more ice, please? My beer is getting warm. ~smile~ ❤ and hUgs Sweets!

  5. LOVE you, dear Isabelle, even if I don’t put ice cubes in my wine 😉 And I LOVE this salad. I’m glad you didn’t get a recipe from anyone else, because yours is the best! It really is. Truly! I’ll be making it this week 🙂 xoxoxo

  6. Pingback: Summertime Salads | Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

