Apple Cake

Some people are generous.  Nadine is very very generous.  She is always willing to give you any recipes she has.  I use to hate asking for recipes because some people are very secretive about “their” recipes.  I am not like that, so it’s hard for me to understand why you wouldn’t want someone else to eat/make something delicious.  But I know a LOT of people like that.  (no, not you….) I get so excited when I find a great recipe, I want to share it with the world!

Nadine’s daughter Jenny has the best recipe for chicken salad.  I want that recipe….the exact recipe.  Jenny has been known to be extremely vague (not in a mean way) about that darn chicken recipe.  But I understand, I had to actually start paying a lot of attention to my cooking because I hardly follow my own recipes!  When you blog, it seems people want exact measurements…. 😉

Maybe NOW I will have an exact recipe….come on Jenny the blog world is ready!

Back to Nadine’s wonderful Apple Cake, so delicious and pretty darn easy to make.  Bonus: recipe is extremely easy to double.  In fact Nadine said she always makes a double batch when making it for a card night or family gatherings.

Ingredients:

For the Cake:

2 cups apples finely diced (you don’t need to peel them)

1 cup sugar

1 cup flour

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 egg

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup chopped walnuts (or other nuts but walnuts taste best)

For the Sauce:

1/4 cup brown sugar

1 1/4 cup sugar

1 tablespoon flour

1/2 cup water

2 tablespoons butter

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

Dash salt

How to:

Heat your oven to 375F

Butter an 8X8 pan.  Set aside.

In a large bowl mix your apple and your sugar.  Set aside until your sugar has melted.  I tossed the apple and sugar a few times during this process.

In you mixer put your flour, cinnamon, baking soda and salt.  Add your sugar and apple mixture and your egg.  Mix well.  Add your chopped nuts.  Mix gently.  Pour into your prepared pan and bake for 35-40 minutes in your preheated oven.

Ready for the oven

Ready for the oven

When you have about 5-10 minutes left to your baking time, start your sauce.  In a medium sauce pan add all your ingredients and gently bring to a boil.  You must stir constantly while cooking your sauce.  Pour your hot sauce over your hot cake right out of the oven.   I took the time to slowly pour my sauce all over the cake to cover every bit of my cake.

Fresh out of the oven covered with a beautiful sauce

Fresh out of the oven covered with a beautiful sauce

Note: as I said above, Nadine usually doubles this recipe.  I didn’t really need to double it but I started chopping my apples and I got carried away….so I doubled the recipe!  If you do decide to be ambitious like me, simply butter a 9X13 pan….and double all ingredients.  BUT cooking time was the same! 🙂

This cake is so moist and flavorful.  I love the sweetness and “gooeyness” of the sauce with the “spongyness” of the cake.  (I am full of new words today!)

Sunshine and I had our cake and we ate it too!

Sunshine and I had our cake and we ate it too!

Printer friendly: Apple Cake

Peace and let’s share!

Isabelle

Also shared on:

9 thoughts on “Apple Cake

  1. Looks delicious…I hate that I’m allergic to cinnamon – I miss out on the yummy apple, peach & pumpkin treats.

    …..and I know EXACTLY how you feel! I had a friend who was a wonderful cook who refused to share any of her recipes. I made it a point the very first time she did that to ALWAYS share my recipes with anyone and everyone….including tips and tricks I did to make it better, easier or my own….

    Recipe sharers of the world unite!

  2. LOL OK Isabelle I will TRY to write down my Chicken Salad recipe just for you! I have never measured the ingredients so it will be challenging for sure. I can’t promise anything as I “season to taste” almost everything but it will be close! Coming Soon to a blog near you!

    PS Love my mom’s Apple Cake! It’s yummy! She didn’t make it for years and I reminded her of it! Didn’t appreciate it as much when I was younger as I do now! Funny how that happens 🙂

  3. Pingback: Pecan Pie Bars | Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

