Hash Brown Pie…because I didn’t want cereal!

Let me explain and please don’t think too poorly of me and my decisions making.  My friend Lisa is hosting our monthly Euchre night.  Lisa is the sweetest person you will ever meet.  She also tries to accommodate and make everyone’s life easy.  So, to make it easy on everyone she decided to have cereal as our “theme” for food this month.  Plain and simple, cereal…of any kind.  Little bitty problem for me, I don’t really eat cereal.  Another little problem is that we usually have wine or cocktails when we play Euchre….therefore wine and milk= sick tummy for me.  (No worries I won’t elaborate)  Also I was planning for the past 2 Euchre months that I needed to get my act together and make my Lemon-Ginger Martinis .  Needless to say martinis and cereal is a recipe for disaster in my mind/body!

So I took it upon myself to branch out of the cereal/breakfast for dinner…OK I know what you are thinking: “Always going against the grain.”  No, I just think outside the box…the cereal box that is.  (yea, I know, not real funny…)

Hash Brown Pie...breakfast for dinner!

Ingredients:

3 cups shredded potatoes (you can use fresh of any kind or frozen)

1/3 cup melted butter

1/2 cup chopped onions

1 cup finely chopped ham

1 cup shredded cheese (I had cheddar…this time)

1/4 cup mushrooms, sliced

3 large eggs, beaten

3/4 cup milk or half and half

2 tablespoons fresh herbs (I had parsley and thyme)

Splash hot sauce

Salt and Pepper

How to:

Preheat your oven to 425F

Make sure you remove as much moisture as possible from your potatoes, especially if you are using frozen potatoes.  You may want to squeeze your potatoes in a dish towel until you remove all the water.  Press your potatoes into the bottom and side of a 9-inch pie plate.  Drizzle with your melted butter.  Bake in your preheated oven for 25 minutes.  Cool for 10 minutes.

Crust ready for the oven

Baked Hash Brown Crust...a bit too much in my opinion!


Reduce oven temperature to 350F.

In a pan, add 1 teaspoon olive oil and cook your onions for 5 minutes until soft and fragrant.  Add your mushrooms and cook 2-3 minutes more.  Remove and let cool 2-3 minutes.

Combine your ham and shredded cheese.  Sprinkle evenly on the bottom of your pan.  Top with your onion and mushrooms mixture.  Set aside.

Filling is in!


In a bowl combine your eggs, milk, herbs, salt and pepper.  Pour your egg mixture over your vegetables and ham.  Bake in your preheated oven for 20-25 minutes.  Let stand for 10 minutes before serving.

Custard has been poured and ready for the oven!

I was going to take a picture of a serving but alas it’s all gone!  Success!  I didn’t even get in trouble for not having cereal!🙂

So here is another picture of the finished product!

Printer friendly: Hash Brown Pie

Peace and outside the box,

Isabelle

Recipe also on:

11 thoughts on “Hash Brown Pie…because I didn’t want cereal!

  1. Looks pretty darn good – I understand. I’m not a huge fan of milk and wine together, either. Have fun a euchere – My hubby and I play a weekly game of Hand & Foot with another couple…..so much fun to get together!

  2. Oh I have not heard that card game mentioned for years. My North Dakota/Minnesota relatives played that one! This recipe looks fantastic. Great pictures. Come over and visit us today Isabelle. We have a really yummy recipe for chilled cantaloupe soup and if you make a comment on the post, the Fairy Hobmother might pay you a visit and grant a wish!

  3. Haha euchre is such a midwest thing — they play it out buffalo way too. Whereas those of us from central NY play pitch which is quite a bit easier.😛 I could never get past the scorekeeping in euchre…

    your pie looks tasty!

  4. I love this! I’m absolutely terrible at pie crusts. We love both quiche and potato latkes in our house–this is a great combination of the two. Did other people actually bring cereal and cocktails to the euchre party?

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

