Grilled Stuffed Jalapenos….some like it hot!

Hot as in…spicy, épicée, picante, kruidig, würzig, スパイシー, 香辣,  kryddig…. You get my point!

Driving to lovely Branson, Missouri for Matt’s new business venture, he had the opportunity to review all my cooking magazines…that’s when he started getting ideas.  Ideas of recipes for ME/MOI to cook.  He even took his notepad out to jot down these great ideas.  So tonight, having worked my tiny butt (a girl can dream)  off, I am relaxing by attempting one of his cravings: grilled stuffed jalapenos.  This recipe was inspired by the cooking light recipe for grilled jalapenos as well as a ‘doctor’s office” magazine Matt was reading while waiting!

Ingredients:

12 jalapenos (I tried to get the largest ones I could find)

6-ounces of low fat cream cheese at room temperature

1/2 cup shredded Mexican blend cheese (I bought the one with jalapenos!)

1 garlic clove grated

3/4 cup canned black beans, rinsed (yes, you won’t use the whole can but keep it to make black beans and rice tomorrow night!)

1/2 cup roughly chopped cilantro (and a touch more for serving)

2 teaspoons lime juice

Salt and Pepper

How to:
Before we start may I suggest you wear rubber gloves when working with jalapenos or any hot peppers.  It will save you a lot of pain along the way.  I, on the other hand, love to play with fire and I get burned everytime!  I never learn my lesson!

OK….

Halve your peppers lengthwise and remove the seeds and white membrane.  (see pics below).  Lay on a platter and set aside.

Jalapenos cut in half

Jalapenos cut in half

    Jalapenos seeded, ready to be filled

Jalapenos seeded, ready to be filled

In a large bowl mix your cream cheese, shredded cheese, grated garlic, salt and pepper.  Add your black beans and cilantro, gently fold, careful not to crush all your black beans.

Using a small spoon or scoop, fill your peppers.  I don’t like to overfill them because when they get on the grill the stuffing goes everywhere and you lose it all.

Stuffed Jalapenos ready for the grill

Stuffed Jalapenos ready for the grill

Preheat your grill for 5-10 minutes.  Place your peppers on a grill rack or grill grate coated with cooking spray.  Place on your grill and cook (covered) for about 8 minutes.  Keep an eye on your peppers so they don’t burn.

On the grill...smells delicious

On the grill…smells delicious

Place on your serving platter and sprinkle with chopped cilantro.

Ready to eat! So yummy!

Ready to eat! So yummy!

Printer friendly:  Grilled Stuffed Jalapenos

Peace and hot stuff!

Isabelle

15 thoughts on “Grilled Stuffed Jalapenos….some like it hot!

  1. Oooh, these look tasty! I like the addition of black beans to the filling, too — YUM. And next time your hubby drives to Branson, go with him!!! I live 5 hours away and would drive there to meet you!

    • OH MY GOODNESS, I had no clue you were so close (and to think I pride myself in Geography!) I did go with him! I promise next time I will contact you. Funny thing is Matt and I talked about you during our drive! Sorry Kim next time I won’t be so clueless! Hugs, Iz

  2. These look fantastic! Great for an outdoor summer dinner. I’ll definitely be wearing the gloves. The last time I worked with jalapenos I had an eye burning incident. That one, I won’t forget. 😉

  3. Helpfull hint….if by chance you were to get the jalapeno oil on your skin..I have heard (ok, by experience) that rubbing alcohol will remove the oil…it does work.

  4. Pingback: Grilled Stuffed Jalapenos | Food Frenzy

  5. We make stuffed japs with the same concept using sausage, like jimmy dean, pre-cooked of course. I am going to have to try this with black beans. And lots of parmesean cheese too!

  6. Pingback: Superbowl Grub | Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

