Inspired Macaroni Salad

In my previous life, I was a decorator/interior designer.  I am not one to take offense on what I was called…I was busy making a living.  I was really really busy…then the economy went “kaboom”.  When I was in the decorating business I would get LOTS of decorating magazines.  I would get very inspired and excited every time I saw a new idea.  As you can imagine those ideas can get pretty expensive!  Re-do a room here, paint here, change a cabinet here and there…you get the idea.

In this life, I get cooking magazines…a lot…so I get inspired still but frankly the cost is a lot more bearable!  This is exactly what happened this morning, I got my copy of Everyday Food and I was inspired!

In fact, I was inspired to make my macaroni salad lighter.  I didn’t do much different than what I normally do but I did used greek yogurt instead of just mayonnaise.

Lighter Macaroni Salad

Ingredients:

1/2 pound macaroni noodles (or any short noodles you prefer)

2 hard boil eggs

1/2 cup plain yogurt

1/4 cup mayonnaise (light if possible)

splash of hot sauce

1 tablespoon relish

1  celery stalk finely diced

1/2 cup frozen peas thawed

2 tablespoon finely chopped chives

Salt and Pepper

How to:

Boil your noodles according to package directions.  Set aside.

Chop your hard boiled eggs and set aside.  Trust me they don’t have to be pretty or exactly perfect.  The yolk will “mesh” with the dressing so no worries.

In a large bowl mix your yogurt, mayonnaise, hot sauce, relish, salt and pepper (to taste).  Add your cooled noodles, peas, 1 tablespoon of chives and celery.  Mix VERY well.  Add your chopped eggs and gently fold in.  Taste and adjust salt and pepper.  Sprinkle with last tablespoon of chives.

Note: I am always forgetting to thaw my peas.  Easy fix, when I drain my noodles I throw my frozen peas in and they thaw while the noodles cool.

Serve immediately or chill in your refrigerator until ready.

Printer friendly:  Inspired Macaroni Salad

Cooper being Cooper

Cooper our “pretend to be” chocolate lab.  He is also an inspiration….an inspiration to be goofy!  I realize this has nothing to do with macaroni salad but I love this picture.

Peace and get inspired,

Isabelle

Also on:    

11 thoughts on “Inspired Macaroni Salad

  1. This sounds great!…I wonder could I sub. the yogurt & Mayo for some FF Sour Cream?
    Thank you for posting & sharing these “healthier” version dishes!
    I can use any help I can get. (lol)

  2. It looks delicious! Like you – I get a ton of food magazines. I have stacks and stacks of them – along with shelves and shelves of cookbooks! If our house ever catches fire……WHOOSH….it’s a goner.

  3. Pingback: A Lighter Macaroni Salad | Lark's Country Heart

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

