My Mother-in-law’s cucumbers

Well, the truth is this is my mother-in-law’s cucumber according to Mr. Man.  He loves those cucumbers.  If I have made a “mistake” from the original recipe, I am certain she will let me know! Right, Penny? 😉  But I wanted to give credit where credit is due.

It is quite funny that I have a recipe from my mother-in-law…I should mention that the women on my husband’s maternal side of his family are not known to be cooks.  Don’t worry this is not huge news to them.  They are all gorgeous with an amazing sense of humor but they landed the mac daddy when they realized that I love to cook!  They also love to eat so that works out for us!

These cucumbers are a great side when eating chicken wings (especially as hot as Matt likes them).  Kind of a fresh crisp bite to sink your teeth into.  Also if you have lovely cucumbers from your garden they would be delicious in this recipe.

Ingredients:

1 cucumber (stating the obvious is my talent!)

1 onion

1 cup of white vinegar

1 cup of warm water

1 teaspoon of sea salt (or kosher)

1 teaspoon of pepper

1/2 teaspoon of sugar

How to:

Peel your cucumber, I always leave a little bit of green on mine because my neighbor Kristie says it keeps them crisper (I don’t know if true but I like the idea and the look of them).  Thinly slice your cucumber and your onion, put them in a medium size bowl, add your salt, pepper and sugar.  Pour your vinegar and water, mix well.  Put a lid or cover with clear wrap.  Put in your refrigerator for at least 4 hours.

That’s all folks!

Printer friendly: Penny’s cucumbers

Peace and pennies 😉

Isabelle

7 thoughts on “My Mother-in-law’s cucumbers

  1. Okay – that’s pretty cool. I love wings and can see where they would be delicious! I love your description that your family landed the “Mac Daddy” with you as the family cook. I’m my family cook. When I travel, I travel with my knives, a few of my favorite pots, cookbooks and spices. Usually, they have a list of things they’d like me to make.

    When I visit my sisters, I take my mocojete with me for guacamole….I have to make that EVERYTIME! Great post!

  2. That’s the only way I eat cucumbers! My grandparents were super surprised the time I went to them and informed them it was the tastiest thing in the world, how does one make it? 😛

  3. RUNNING to the store for cukes. I LOVE these. Thank you, Penny.

    Pyrex is the key, for some reason.

    And “mocojete” is a sexy word, Ann.

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

