Homemade Granola Bars, Perfect for Travel

When I know I will be in the car for more than 1 hour, I need to have travel friendly food.  It’s just another one of my excuses to make something freshly baked to eat in the car.  I cannot, in good conscience, eat store bought chocolate bars or snacks.  I feel like a kid about to sneak a cupcake behind his/her mother’s back.  Almost a forbidden action…wow, who knew eating in the car was such an experience for me!  Geez, I need to go on road trips more often….At this point I should confess to you that I am NOT a good road trip traveler.  My husband will tell you that I have severe panic attacks and high anxiety every time we travel.  I worry about the trip, the preparations, people left behind (namely my parents who are caring for our daughters), what to pack, not pack…I could go on.

Which brings me back to the baked goods.  It makes me feel better to bake something, it also brings me peace to eat something homemade…with LOVE!  See I feel better already!

Note: Working out also relieves a lot of stress for me, so I have “amped up” my workouts since this morning….I am a mess.  But I only have 24 hours to get myself under control prior to travel.  ***warning, crazy person talking!!!***

Homemade Peanut and Nutella Granola Bars


Peanut and Nutella Granola Bars

8 tablespoons butter

1/2 cup brown sugar

1 tablespoon light corn syrup

1/4 cup Nutella

1/2 cup chopped peanuts (roasted but not salted)

2 1/3 cups rolled oats

1/3 cup all-purpose flour

1/4 cup chocolate chips (optional)

1/4 cup peanut butter chips (optional)

How to:

Preheat your oven to 350F

Grease a 8X8 or 9X9 baking dish, set aside.

In a large bowl mix your rolled oats, peanuts and flour.  Set aside.

In a medium sauce pan place your butter, sugar, corn syrup and Nutella.  Heat gently until your sugar has dissolved.  Remove from the heat and let cool for 3-5 minutes.  Pour over your dry ingredients.  Mix well and spread into your prepared baking dish.

Ready for the oven

Bake in your preheated oven for 25 minutes or until golden brown.  Let cool completely and cut into squares.  You may want to “mark” your squares prior to the bars being completely cooled.  It will make it easier to cut them later.

Cooling and ready to be cut

So delicious!  I am ready for this trip…bring it on!

Printer Friendly: Peanut and Nutella Granola Bars

Peace and Nerves of steel,

Isabelle

8 thoughts on “Homemade Granola Bars, Perfect for Travel

  1. Not a crazy person – just a mom. I have panic everytime we leave our little ones too. I hate it. But then when I’m actually gone and enjoying the day I’m ok. It’s all in the anticipation for me. It’s hard to leave the little guys, but sometimes it’s good to getaway and come back rested and a little closer to the hubby. 🙂 Good luck with your preparations – and enjoy!!!!! And if all else fails, go for a run and then eat some more of those awesome looking bars!

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

