Baba Ghanoush; because it’s fun to say!

Baba Ghanoush's ingredients

At the risk of sounding childlike, I do like to repeat certain words in my head. (when home alone; out loud)  I try different intonations, I use it in small funny sentences.  I pretend to be talking to Alex Trebek…wait a minute here…OK, if you watch Jeopardy you will know that Mr. Trebek always over enunciates words when they are from a different language.  My guess is that he wants to use proper grammar and articulate well….but it’s overkill in my book….then again I still struggle with the difference between thong and tongue…(as I said before it does get kind of ugly in certain situations!)

Here is one sentence I have been repeating in my head all day…please don’t judge…I am highly sensitive (not really)!

“That’s some mighty fine Baba Ghanoush you’ve got going for yourself”.  I know it doesn’t even make sense!

Ingredients:

1 large eggplant

Zest 1 lemon

Juice 1 lemon

1/4 cup tahini (sesame paste)

2 tablespoon olive oil

2 cloves garlic minced

1 teaspoon salt

3/4 cup fresh parsley or cilantro

How to:

Preheat your oven to 400F

Slice your eggplant in half lengthwise and place flesh side down on a baking sheet.  Using a fork, pierce the skin of your eggplant all over.  Place in your preheated oven for 25 minutes.

Ready for the oven

Remove from oven and let cool for 10 minutes.  Scoop out the flesh of your eggplant and place in your food processor.  Add your lemon zest and juice.  Add your garlic, tahini, olive oil, salt and pepper.  Blend until smooth.  Pour your dip in a serving bowl and add 1/2 cup of your parsley, gently mix and top with the remaining 1/4 cup parsley.  Serve with warm pitas or naan bread.

Baba Ghanoush...I had to say it again 😉

This is also great on toasted french bread, sort of a middle eastern frenchie bruschettas 😉  OK that might be a stretch of my imagination but I like the idea of mixing up the cultures of food!

Printer friendly:  Baba Ghanoush

Peace and ghanoush,

Isabelle

Also on:

6 thoughts on “Baba Ghanoush; because it’s fun to say!

  1. LOL! I saw your title and started to chuckle. This is totally one of those words that I repeat over and over in front of the kids because it just makes me giggle (and makes them giggle too). Great recipe!

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

