Summertime Love

I know it’s not technically summer yet but as you know I am a big fan of summer.  We get along just fine.  I don’t even mind my sweaty armpits, my not so cold glass of wine, a few bugs here and there, my butt sticking to my car seat….really it’s all good to me!

To go along with this beautiful weather, I like to treat myself to fresh summery recipes.  Here is a simple and fun salad. (my definition of fun might be greatly different than yours…I do apologize for that)

Grilled Romaine Salad with Ice Box Buttermilk Dressing…double and triple YUM!

Ingredients:

2-3 heads Romaine Lettuce

6 slices bacon cooked and crumbled

Ice Box Buttermilk Dressing; recipe to follow or use your favorite store bought…if you must 😉

How to:

Start your grill, let it get really hot.  (Wow! such technical terms)

Cut the end of each romaine lettuce and then cut in in half length wise.  Lightly brush with olive oil and place on your hot grill for 30 seconds per side.  Turn the heat down to low as not to burn the lettuce.

Place your grilled lettuce on a platter.  Drizzle with your dressing and scatter your cooked bacon.  Enjoy!  The tartness, creaminess and overall fabulous flavors are enough to make me cry.  I love this homemade buttermilk dressing and I wish I could drown my sorrows in it.  Although, I don’t really have any sorrows…

Delicious grilled romaine, such a treat!

Ice Box Buttermilk Dressing from (yes again) Back to the Table; A Reunion of Food and Family by Art Smith

1/2 cup extra-virgin olive oil

1/2 cup reduced-fat mayonnaise

1/2 cup buttermilk

2 tablespoons grainy mustard

2 tablespoons red wine vinegar

2 tablespoons chopped rinsed capers

2 tablespoons minced shallots (I didn’t have shallots so I substituted with white minced onion)

2 teaspoons chopped fresh oregano

1 teaspoon chopped fresh basil

1 teaspoon chopped fresh tarragon

1 teaspoon sugar

Salt and hot red pepper sauce to taste

How to:

Place all ingredients in a jar and shake well to blend.  The dressing can be prepared up to 1 week ahead, covered, and refrigerated.  Simply give a good shake to mix everything up before serving.

Did I mention how good this dressing is?  I absolutely love it.  I am in love with buttermilk, yes another one of my southern fascinations.  I wish I could come up with daily recipes using buttermilk.  I always have it in my fridge, it’s a must!  Can one bathe in buttermilk?  🙂  I know…I didn’t need to share that…I have a soft spot for buttermilk!

Printer friendly: Grilled Romaine Salad with Ice Box Buttermilk Dressing

Peace and Buttermilk,

Isabelle

6 thoughts on “Summertime Love

  1. I love wilted salads but have never heard of grilling romaine lettuce. I think it would be wonderful. I also ave never thought to use buttermilk in a dressing. So I learned two things from one post. I am sure the “Lady In The Window” on my page would have known it all

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

