Mr. Man’s Late Day Salsa

My sweet husband is a salsa lover/afficionado/ connoisseur of sort.  I know I have my salsa verde perfected.  I am doing pretty darn well with my roasted tomato salsa.  But when it comes to fresh salsa, he is the one who puts the love in our fresh salsa.  He loves to read cookbooks about salsa, he surfs the internet for cool new web site or blogs about salsa.  Interestingly enough I said to him this morning: “why don’t you look in your Salsa Lovers Cookbook for something new to try?”  He says: “I have a salsa cookbook?” Me: “uuuhh, well yes you bought it because it is about salsa….?”  I give him the book, he reads it and says: “wow! that’s a great cookbook!” Me: “that’s what you say every time you read it!”  He: “I do? That’s interesting.”

Yes, we are a good match….

 

Salsa Lovers Cookbook

Salsa Lovers Cookbook

Late Day Salsa (adapted from Salsa Lovers Cookbook)

Ingredients:

4 medium tomatoes, diced and drained

1/3 medium white onion diced

1/2 cucumber peeled and diced

1/2 cup cilantro roughly chopped

2 jalapenos diced

Juice 1 lime

2 teaspoon salt

1 serrano pepper finely diced (optional)

How to:

Combine all ingredients and mix well…Simple and Fast!

Beautiful fresh Salsa!

Beautiful fresh Salsa!

So fresh and healthy, perfect for a barbecue or cocktail hour with some nice tortilla chips😉

Note: The addition of the cucumber really enhances this salsa.  Make sure you have a fresh cucumber, you wouldn’t want to ruin it with a mushy cucumber.

Printer Friendly: Late Day Salsa

Peace and Simple,

Isabelle

Recipe linked to:   

8 thoughts on “Mr. Man’s Late Day Salsa

  1. I LOVE salsa too and yours looks like a nice spin on a traditional pico. I love different kinds of salsa. In Houston, Texas we love our green salsa ALMOST as much as our red. Since I do not tend to eat Mexican food outside of Texas, I have no idea if other states serve the green salsa. Share this recipe with your family and I think you all might like it also. Ninfas is a restaurant chain in Houston. I would think you could halve this recipe if it makes too much for you.

    .Ninfa’s Green Sauce
    Ingredients:
    3 medium-sized green tomatoes, coarsely chopped (you can substitute yellow if you can’t find green ones, but never use red)
    4 tomatillos, cleaned and chopped
    1 to 2 jalapenos, stemmed and coarsely chopped
    3 small garlic cloves
    3 medium-sized ripe avocados, peeled, pitted and sliced
    4 sprigs cilantro
    1 tsp. of salt
    1 1/2 cups of sour cream

    Method:
    Combine chopped tomatoes, tomatillos, jalapenos and garlic in a saucepan. Bring to a boil (tomatoes provide the liquid), reduce heat and simmer 10 to 15 minutes.
    Remove from heat and let cool slightly.
    Place tomato mixture with the avocados, cilantro and salt in food processor or blender and blend until smooth.
    Pour into a bowl and stir in sour cream.

    Makes 4 to 5 cups

  2. Pingback: Holiday Gifts & Treats. Part Two: Savory | Isabelle at home

  3. Isabelle – I love this photo and recipe! Could we use this salsa photo, with full credit back to you and your site, in our patient newsletter? My husband and I are wine lovers too, kindred spirits🙂 Our hobby is traveling around doing wine tastings and writing about it. Let me know if you want to have a link to our site…not wanting to “advertise” here. Appreciate you letting us know about the photo. E Camp.

  4. Cucumber is a great idea. Sometimes I use jicama, which is somewhat similar to the cucumber texture, That drink to the right looks really refreshing. Is there a recipe for it? Looks like it has slivers of fruit in it maybe?

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

