Banana Chocolate Chip Cake

Hello my name is Isabelle and I eat raw cake batter.  A LOT.

Hopeless....

There you have it folks.  I know all the dangers…the raw eggs and all but I just can’t help myself.  It is so good.  On top of it all, if there is bananas or peanut butter or chocolate, or a combination of any of those…well get out of my way because there is no stopping me.  Isn’t it sad?  There is no 12 step program or RCEA (raw cake eater anonymous) for this kind of deviant addiction.  It’s just me and the batter.

I found this cake in my new found obsession cookbook (yes the Art Smith one….I am embarrassed to say)

Back to the Table; The Reunion of Food and Family

Ingredients:

2 cups sugar

1 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature

4 large eggs

2 cups mashed, well-ripened bananas (you know I always have bananas in my freezer…they are the best to use in cakes and muffins)

2 1/2 cups self-rising flour

2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips

How to:

Preheat your oven to 350F

Grease and flour a 10-inch fluted tube (Bundt) pan…or be a rebel like me and use the pan you want!

Beat the sugar and butter together in a large bowl or in your mixer until light and fluffy.  Add your eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition.  Reduce to low speed and beat in the bananas.  Gradually beat in the dry ingredients, beating until just combined.  Mix in the chocolate chips.  Spread evenly in your prepared pan.  Bake in your preheated oven for about 1 hour.  In my case it took 10-15 minutes more…I guess when you have a “whole” cake as opposed to a “hole” cake it takes a bit longer!

Fresh out of the oven

Glaze (optional but not for Bear…it’s a must in her book!)

Ingredients:

2 cups sifted confectioners’ sugar

2 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder

1 tablespoon butter, softened

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

4 tablespoons milk

How to:
In a small bowl, combine butter with sugar and cocoa.  Add vanilla.  Add milk gradually until smooth.  Drizzle over cake.
My sweet child told me it’s not a cake unless it has icing.  I told her that if she wanted icing she better find a recipe and ice the cake.  I was done for the day!  She did a fabulous job!

Bear's glazed cake

YUM!

Look at all those beautiful chocolate chips!

Printer friendly:  Banana Chocolate Chips Cake
Peace and Dough,
Isabelle
Also linked on:
15 thoughts on “Banana Chocolate Chip Cake

  1. Since I don’t bake many cakes, I’m not in RCEA, but I’m a long-time member or Raw Cookie Dough Eaters Anonymous! This cake looks beautiful. And what a wonderful job icing your daughter did! Yum!

  2. HI Isabelle,
    is there any baking soda or baking powder in this recipe ? only eggs, sugar & bananas then add flour & chocolate chips ?
    thks

    BTW – thank you for Bday wishes, I had a great one – topped off with my favorite cake – a store bought one !!!! crazy I know but it’s a Queen elizabeth – reine Elizabeth from Costco — ever tried any good recipes for that cake ??

  3. I noticed your recipe calls for self rising flour..AHHH!!! I Don’t have THAT!!! What is that even???
    For those who (like me) are a beginner baker no worries..no need to panic..if you don’t have self rising flour, I found us a little help :

    http://www.food.com/recipe/homemade-self-rising-flour-substitute-29318?scaleto=2.5&mode=null&st=true Thanks you Google!

    I plan on making this recipe later this morning (since it’s past midnight here) & this will save me a trip to the store. It’s basically flour, baking powder & salt. Oh I can’t wait! & That glaze…to die for!!! I’ll share my finished product on your FB page Isabelle 🙂

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

