Have Camper Will Travel….& Roasted Tomato Salsa

My father-in-law, whom I think is a comedy act all on his own, brought me tomatoes…a nice amount of tomatoes.  Here is the situation or should I say: “here is where the adventure begins”.  My father-in-law and his lady friend (I think she has earned the right not be called a “girl”friend) are traveling from Florida to Alaska, 3 glorious months of fun and bonding time!  A little pit stop in Indiana to see us and drop off some tomatoes…Because he was leaving for his trip, he cleaned out his garden and brought me all the tomatoes he had!  I am perfectly happy to find a way to use these lovely sweet Florida tomatoes.

Grandpa Larry and Miss Cynny

Mr. Man and I are so excited for the two of them.  This trip is long overdue, they both have been getting ready and planning this great adventure for quite some time.  I can’t wait to hear about all the great places they will visit and the interesting people they will meet.  I bet they say the same thing about my dear father-in-law…interesting man…🙂

Note: My father-in-law doesn’t realize he is a comedy act.  I think he is funny because he is serious about the funny stuff he says…did I lose you?  Sometime I just shake my head at the stuff he says and he shakes his head because he thinks I’m weird (and a girl…but that’s another story altogether)

Isn’t that nice, so pretty and perfect!

So I made: Roasted Tomato Salsa

Ingredients:

1 1/2 to 2 pounds fresh tomatoes quartered

2 large white onions quartered

2-3 jalapenos (to taste or omit) (today, I am using serrano peppers for my salsa)

4-5 cloves garlic unpeeled

2 tablespoon olive oil

salt and pepper

1/2 cup fresh cilantro roughly chopped

Zest 1 lime

Juice 1 lime

How to;

Preheat your oven to 350F

In a large bowl mix your tomatoes, onion, unpeeled garlic and jalapenos.  Pour your olive oil, salt and pepper to taste.  Toss well and put on a ungreased baking sheet.  Put in your preheated oven for 45 minutes.

Veggies ready for the oven

Remove from oven let cool for 5-10 minutes.  Pour everything (juices and all) in a food processor or blender.  Blend until smooth.  Pour your salsa in a large bowl and add your lime zest and juice.  Mix well.  Add your chopped cilantro, taste and adjust seasoning.  We like spicy around here….real spicy but if you are not a fan simply omit the jalapenos.  This time, I actually roasted serrano peppers from my father-in-law but I also love any spicy peppers I can find!

Beautiful Salsa

Printer Friendly: Roasted Tomato Salsa

Delicious with tortilla chips or on grilled chicken or with quesadillas…yum🙂

Peace and travel,

Isabelle

Go check out my recipe on:

11 thoughts on “Have Camper Will Travel….& Roasted Tomato Salsa

  1. Loved the story and the recipe- looks like a keeper to me. My father (age 90 1/2) has a lady friend too. He found her on the internet 6 years ago. She is worth her weight in gold to me. As a Texan, as I read the recipe and looked at your pictures, I am thinking this lady from Indiana does not know her peppers if she thinks she roasted jalapenos for her salsa. Glad for the explanation at the end – redemption!!!! I have a market stand close that sells me 30 pounds of their homegrown culls for $10. Will be heading there today – now I know what I will use part of the tomatotes for.

    Thanks

  2. We don’t have tomatoes yet but I will certainly be trying this recipe when we do. It’s so simple and it will be a hit with everyone I am sure.

    Hopping by from New Week…New Friends. Glad to have found your blog. Would love for you to stop by and say hello at it’s a Mom’s World http://www.theresagrisanti.com

    Enjoy a great day!

  3. I have a great recipe for a roasted tomato and basil soup if you still have tomatoes left. Salsa sounds good! I consider myself a salsa connoisoir, so I will have to try it!!!

  4. Pingback: UNproductivity: and Grilled Shrimp tacos! « Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

