Spanish Sloppy Joes Sliders!

Because everything is fun and good when you put in on a slider, right?  I know I already have a Sloppy Joes recipe, but it is not MY recipe.  I think it is delicious but I wanted to have something different for the summer.  Also, I have to confess; I overbought (what a surprise) slider buns when I made my pulled pork sandwiches!  I have about 4 packs of slider buns in the freezer ready to have fun in the sun (sort of speak!).

I asked Matt what flavors he would like for a new sloppy joe recipe.  His first reaction was: “you’re not changing your Sloppy Joe recipe are you?”  I said no I am making a new recipe since the one I make is not MY recipe.  Wow, who knew he was so attached to Sloppy Joes!

Spanish Style Sloppy Joes…because it’s the summer and I am still obsessed with Saffron!😉

Note: You may cut this recipe in half, it was for 6 of us and I wanted leftovers!

Ingredients:

2 pounds ground beef (as usual use chicken, turkey or pork what ever you prefer)

1 yellow pepper diced

1 red pepper diced

1 medium onion diced

2 garlic cloves minced

1/2 cup dry wine wine (or chicken broth, if using wine a nice dry Spanish wine would be lovely)

1 teaspoon saffron (optional)

1 14-ounce can diced tomatoes

1 tablespoon paprika (smoked if you have it)

1/4 cup brown sugar

1 tablespoon tomato paste

1 teaspoon red wine vinegar

salt and pepper to taste

Buns for serving, not your buns…bread buns…😉

How to:

In a medium measuring cup put your wine and add your saffron (if using) let this sit while your get everything else started.  It will get a beautiful orange sunset color…absolutely perfect!

In another bowl, mix your brown sugar, paprika and tomato paste.  Set aside.

In a large pan, heat 1 tablespoon olive.  Add your beef and brown until no longer pink.  Remove to a large bowl or drain fat (what ever you prefer…I like to drain the fat even when I use chicken or turkey!)  Set aside.

Add your onions, both peppers and your garlic.  Cook until soft and fragrant, about 5-6 minutes.  Add your wine and saffron.  Cook for another 2-3 minutes and then add your crushed tomatoes.  Bring this to a gently simmer and carefully add your sugar mixture.  combine well.  Let this cook for another 5 minutes until nice and thick.  Drizzle your vinegar over your meat and carefully combine.  Salt and Pepper to taste.

Serve with bread of your choice.  I like to serve with a Spanish rice (to bring me close to a Paella….but I dream!)

Enjoy!

Printer friendly:  Spanish Sloppy Joes

Peace and Slide Baby!

Isabelle

My recipe is also linked on: Savannah\’s Savory Bites

13 thoughts on “Spanish Sloppy Joes Sliders!

  1. I saw your post of Facebook and thought what would make a Spanish sloppy joe and I thought smoked paprika! I have never used saffron with beef — very interesting. I should try it!

  2. Hi, Isabelle! Your are my last stop on basilmomma’s “blog hop” (started at #56 and counted down — I always did do things backwards…🙂 Your Spanish Sloppy Joes look GREAT and I’ll definitely be trying them out — love the mix of spices and the fresh peppers, too. You are SO inventive!
    Take care and have a wonderful weekend,
    ~Kim

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

