Falling for the Book: Spicy Zucchini Quick Bread

Spicy Zucchini Quick Bread

Let me now explain the title, it’s so me….some of you might relate….some of you might think I am crazy. (I’m good with that!)

I love public libraries.  I could spend hours…HOURS in there.  I get my love of books from my dad.  He loves to spend time in libraries and book stores.

So, I got this text from Heather (Basilmomma) telling me that my Bear is on the cover of the Indiana State Museum flyer for their summer program.  She also told me that I can get the flyer at the library.  Great, since I am there practically everyday during the summer, I will get a copy (or 3) for myself.  I mean the kid is cute and she is now famous (!).  Also, I know my mom will want to have one as well. (nerds unite!)

My bear is the “bottom” one, she is holding up her friend! 🙂

While at my lovely library with my sweet daughters (at that moment…you know it’s summer…kids don’t always get along!) I was walking and found myself in the cookbook aisle…what a shocker!  I just happened to grab this book….2 minutes later, I am sitting in the middle of the aisle falling for this book…hard!

The book: Back To The Table; The Reunion of Food and Family by Art Smith

Confession: I almost put the book back…because right on the inside of the cover the first thing was: “From Art Smith, Oprah Winfrey’s personal chef….blah, blah, blah”  Again please DO NOT send me hate mail but….I have never really been a follower of O.W..  I am sure she is as awesome as they get.  I just don’t watch TV during the day.  I might have seen her show 2-3 times at best.  It’s just not for me.  I am not saying the fact that he is or was her personal chef is bad.  I am simply saying that I don’t “like” stuff because it is in relation to a famous person.

BUT the book is awesome!  Nicely done Mr. Smith…nicely done 🙂  Here again, the first thing that jumped out at me: Spicy Zucchini Quick Bread!  Oh! come on, I haven’t made a quick bread in a while….

Ingredients:

3 cups all purpose flour

2 teaspoons five-spice powder, pumpkin powder spice, or ground cinnamon

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

2 cups sugar

1 cup vegetable oil (I only had canola oil)

3 large eggs

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

2 cups shredded unpeeled zucchini (2 large)

1 cup chopped pecans (I didn’t put them in because Mr. Man and Sunshine don’t like nuts in their sweet breads!)

How to:

Preheat your oven to 350F.  Mr. Smith also said you may want to position a rack in the lower third of the oven.

Butter and flour a 10-inch fluted tube (Bundt) pan.  Set aside.

In a large bowl mix your flour, five-spice powder, baking soda, baking powder, and salt.  Make a well in the center.  In another bowl, whisk the sugar, oil, eggs, and vanilla and pour into the well.  Mix well, then stir in the zucchini and chopped pecans.  Spread evenly in the pan.

My zucchinis (I do think this looks like more than 2 cups but it was 2 zucchinis so I am using all of it)

Ready for the oven (isn’t my pan cute? I found it at a yard sale for $.50! Not bad!)

Bake in your preheated oven for about 1 hour or until a toothpick inserted in the center of the cake comes out clean.  Let cool completely and enjoy!

My afternoon treat 🙂

Printer friendly: Spicy Zucchini Quick Bread

Note: AWESOME bread.  I didn’t have Five-Spice powder so I did the cinnamon and a dash of cayenne pepper!  Still delicious!

Peace and Not Famous by a long shot,

Isabelle

16 thoughts on “Falling for the Book: Spicy Zucchini Quick Bread

  1. Yes! I, too, am in love with libraries of all shapes and sizes (this is probably why in my real-person life I now work with books every day–go figure). I’ll have to peruse the shelves and see if any yummy inspiration strikes me sometime soon! 🙂

  2. Looks delicious! I wonder how it would be without cinnamon or 5 spice – I’m allergic…. The perfect cake to take to a pot-luck!

  3. This is funny for so many reasons.
    1. our kids were at this camp together when the picture was taken and of course he doesn’t remember this…
    2.I too am not the biggest Oprah fan…I also don’t watch much daytime TV.
    3. I, like you, have a seat with my name on it in the cookbook isle. I think you and I pass the same cookbooks back and forth either I have it and you have it reserved or vice versa. FUNNY!
    4. We both LOVE cookbooks…
    I could go on and on 🙂
    I am going to forward this to my Mom. She will love the spice addition (she makes a mean Zuc. quick bread)! You should have called…I have 5 spice powder 😉
    Hello SIdney!

  4. Adorable photo of your daughter! How fun to be “famous!” This zucchini bread looks awesome! And the powdered sugar dusting looks down right professional. Nicely done. 🙂

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

