Homade Vanilla Ice Cream with Chocolate Chunks

That’s right!  HOMEMADE ice cream!  It is summer and thankfully I have a little bit more time on my hands….or so I thought.  Reality is: I haven’t stopped since school let out last Friday.  Granted I had 2 parties to go to…but I HAD to go and have fun.  I just couldn’t pass it up.  You understand, right?

The original post for my ice cream was about REALITY…in fact, me complaining about reality TV.  I don’t need to go into all that because it is not important…well, my lack of interest in reality TV is not important.  Reality is important.  REAL Reality!

Here is what reality is:

Reality is me being so tired that I actually drove all the way to the gym only to realize I was wearing my slippers.  Reality is me addressing someone by the wrong name, being corrected by a bi-stander only to turn around and then addressing them by the wrong name.  Reality is me being sick enough to go to bed at 5pm only to wake up the next morning at 6am….not knowing where I was.  (and I was in my own bed!)

Real Ingredients:

1/2 cup sugar

4 egg yolks

1 teaspoon corn starch

1 1/2 cup milk

1/2 cup cream

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 4-ounce premium chocolate bar (I like semi-sweet)

How to really:

In a medium pan, heat your milk to a gentle boil.  At the same time, mix your egg yolks, sugar and corn starch in a medium bowl. Set aside.

When your milk is hot and slightly boiling, carefully add your hot milk to your egg yolk mixture.  You MUST be constantly whisking or you will have scramble eggs.  Some people like to add 1/4 cup of the hot milk to temper the egg mixture.  Then adding the remaining hot milk, while still whisking.  Add your vanilla and keep mixing.

Using a double boiler (for me) or the same pan as your milk.  Gently heat up your mixture (which can now be called a custard!).  Heat gently and stirring constantly until your mixture thickens.  This should take up to 10 minutes.  You will notice the beautiful yellow color of your ice cream starting to take shape!  YUM!

Once the mixture is nice and thick, like a creamy sauce, let this cool completely before putting it in your ice cream maker.  Follow the instructions from your manufacturer.   OK, don’t panic…I know!  NOT everyone has an ice cream maker.  Here is what you can do:  put your cool mixture in a resealable bag.  Remove as much air as possible.  Make sure it is properly closed.  Put your zip lock in a large plastic container filled with 10 cups of ice and  1/2 cup salt.  SHAKE it up.  This is a great workout for your arms.  And perfect if the kids are getting on your last nerves (come on, you know I’m right).

Once your ice cream is chilled time to add your chocolate chunks.  I like to leave good large chunks of chocolate when I am cutting it, but it’s your ice cream so cut to your liking! 🙂

While you machine is still running carefully add your chocolate slowly.  Try not to eat all the chocolate before you add it to your ice cream!

Put your chilled ice cream in a medium plastic container (with a tight lid), put in your freezer for about 2 hours.  You could eat your ice cream right away but it will still be somewhat soft.  My bear loves it that way, she actually microwaves her ice cream before eating it!

This recipe does not make a huge quantity of ice cream, about 5 cups or so.  But it is pretty rich and creamy and delicious and…well you should eat it right away (after it is chilled to your liking!) and have a nice small ice cream party for 5 or so people!

This is my bowl and now it’s all gone….

Printer friendly: Vanilla Ice Cream with Chocolate Chunks

Peace and my own reality,

Isabelle

7 thoughts on “Homade Vanilla Ice Cream with Chocolate Chunks

  1. My arms have been needing a good workout. Who KNEW you could make ice cream that way? (YOU did!) Thanks for sharing this — and for your perspectives on “reality” TV. 🙂 I agree. (How “real” is it with a camera crew standing two feet away?!) Real LIFE is better — and so is REAL ice cream!

  2. Looks amazing! I spent a summer one year making homemade ice-cream every week. My family loved it – my doctor did not! There is truly nothing like it…

  3. Perfect for a nice summer day! Too funny that you got all the way to the gym in your slippers. And yep, the name thing happened to me yesterday – over email though. I apologized to the person and haven’t heard back yet. Sigh. Sometimes I think they couldn’t make up stories equivalent to reality! 😉

  4. Mmm, I’ve learned that homemade ice cream is just the ultimate that there is. Yours looks wonderfully creamy. Enjoy a big bowlful of it for me. Love that you added my button. Don’t worry, it took me forever just to figure out how to input the button into my OWN site. Let the technologically challenged unite!

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

