Pulled Pork for the Masses

Pulled Pork Sliders

Pulled Pork Sliders

I love SUMMER!  I love get togethers, parties, barbecues,etc…especially last minute ones.  It makes me so happy when we decide to have people over just because.  Often I will make my pulled pork and since it makes enough for a gang then it’s time to invite people.  What I love best about this recipe is that I can make it ahead of time (truth is you have to make it ahead of time).  Yet the most important thing about it is that no one has to stand behind a hot grill while everyone else is having fun.  Now I do love to grill and I have been known to send Matt in the middle of winter to grill something outside for us.  But the thing is (in my opinion) for a few people that’s fun, having to grill for 20-30 people that’s work!  Having a huge amount of pulled pork keeping warm in a crockpot now that’s fun!

My friend Ed gave me this recipe, I believe he found it in Southern Living Magazine.  I tried to retrace the recipe online but alas I was unable to.  Of course I have added my own little twist! 😉

Ingredients;

1 5-pound pork roast (butt or shoulder, what ever is on sale)

3 tablespoon salt

2 tablespoon pepper

1 teaspoon paprika

1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper

1 teaspoon dried thyme

1/3 cup apple cider vinegar

1/3 cup white vinegar

1 teaspoon sugar

1-2 teaspoon hot sauce

Barbecue sauce (for serving)

Coleslaw (for serving)

Slider buns (for serving)

How to:

Heat oven to 300F

In a small bowl make your dry rub; mix your salt, pepper,paprika, cayenne pepper and thyme.  Rub your dry seasoning on your pork.  Heat 1 tablespoon olive oil in a large pan and sear your pork on both sides.  2-3 minutes per side.

Transfer your pork to a dutch oven (with a closed lid) and put in your preheated oven.  Cook for 4 1/2 hours.

pork ready for a few hours in the oven

pork ready for a few hours in the oven

Remove from your oven and let cool for 10 minutes.  Once your pork has cooled, shred (using 2 forks is the easiest way) and either put back in your dutch oven or put in a crockpot.  If you plan on eating it right away then use your dutch oven otherwise the crockpot will keep your pork warm.

Mix your vinegars, sugar and hot sauce.  Pour over your shredded pork.  Mix well.  I know some of you may think this is a weird combination but it is absolutely delicious.  The pork is moist and full of flavors.

Serve with baked beans, coleslaw.  I like to use slider buns, but any favorite buns or bread will work.  I love to top my pork with coleslaw and a little hot sauce.

easy meal perfect for a crowd

easy meal perfect for a crowd

Printer friendly: Pulled Pork

I hope everyone has a wonderful summer!

Peace and love,

Isabelle

Also linking up to:

      

13 thoughts on “Pulled Pork for the Masses

  1. Isabelle, this is so much like the recipe that my mother-in-law gave me when I got married. It’s definitely a southern thing;) We LOVE our barbeque!! Thanks for posting. I am going to try your version. Have a great weekend!

  2. Delicious! One of my best friends is a BBQ judge – and they smoke a ton of pork and make pulled pork for the masses. When you get an invite – the answer is ALWAYS yes!

    Since I don’t have a smoker….I’ll be trying this one!

    Thanks for a great post!

  3. Looks positively lovely, Isabelle!! Love a recipe that will feed a bunch of people because, your right, grilling for 30 is WORK! 🙂

    ps-found your blog on Amee’s Fit Fridays…nice to meet you! I’ll be following you on facebook;)

  4. Pingback: Creamy Pork Taco Soup | Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

