Black Eyed Pea Dip

Black Eye Peas Dip

Black Eye Peas Dip

Black eyed peas are said to bring you luck.  Which is why a lot of people make them for New Year’s Eve Celebrations.  I like to be lucky all year long.  So, here is a wonderful easy dip that I make a lot.  Years ago my sister in law Dee made this dip and I absolutely loved it.  She let me borrow the cookbook in which she found the recipe.  Confession: I still have the cookbook.  I never gave to back to her.  I am unsure if she even knows I have it….Hi, Dee! 😉  Now she knows!

Dee's Cookbook :)

Dee’s Cookbook 🙂

I did change a few things from the original recipe (I know, what a shocker!) simply because I make it so much I had to add my own twist.

The original recipe is from a cookbook called: Party Receipts from the Charleston Junior League (see above picture).  I love this cookbook.  (please read: I don’t want to give it back!)

Ingredients:

2 cans black eyed peas, rinsed and well drained. (I have also used 1 can black beans and 1 can black eyed peas, very good)

1/3 cup red wine vinegar

1/3 cup canola oil (I sometime use safflower oil)

1/2 onion finely diced

1 jalapeno finely diced (optional)

2 large garlic cloves finely chopped

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon pepper

1/4 teaspoon sugar

2-3 splashes hot sauce (I love Louisiane)

How to:

In a large bowl, combine everything.  Pretty simple right?  Now for the difficult part.  This dip needs to marinate at least 4 hours.  Believe me, taste it when you are done combining everything and then taste it again after 4 hours and you will be amazed.  The dip can marinate up to 24 hours!  I usually stir it up every now and then.

When ready to serve, taste and adjust seasoning.  Serve with tortillas chips.

Great Party Dip!

Great Party Dip!

Printer friendly: Black Eyed Pea Dip

Peace and beans,

Isabelle

Recipe is also on Coupon Cookin’: Tasty Traditions

15 thoughts on “Black Eyed Pea Dip

  1. Pingback: Superbowl Grub | Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

