Diana’s Buffalo Chicken Dip

Yellowstone...awesome!

Yellowstone…awesome!

Two years ago, we as a family went to Yellowstone National Park.  It was by far one of the best trips of my life.  I have shared some pictures in the past about our trip but today I would love to share a story (in relation to buffalo)  better be ready for some questionable parenting on Matt and I’s part…

Here’s the story:  Before we started our exploration of Yellowstone Park, we made a small stop in Cody, Wyoming.  Home of Wild Bill Hickok.  We visited his daughter Irma’s hotel….lovely although I must admit a bit “mildewy” smell wise.  (I am highly sensitive to smell and quite annoying about it)  All was well in our lovely day, girls were having fun and Mr. Man was in cowboy heaven!  We decided on a local barbecue place for dinner.  Leave it up to us to never eat in chain food restaurants.  On their lovely menu, they had Buffalo Oysters…(oh yeah).  Sunshine, who when hungry will eat without fear, didn’t even question the name.  Go for it she says.  Her sister Bear who has been known to sit for 2-3 hours before finishing an unwelcome meal, was a bit more cautious.  She looked at us funny and was somewhat hesitant to try.  Needless to say I dove right in, so did Matt.  Sunshine was eating it up and eventually so did Bear.  Then they started asking: “what is a Buffalo oyster?”  “where do you get it?”…”oysters as in the ocean?”…

Matt and I didn’t answer…no, we waited until the nice waitress came back around and told Sunshine to ask her.  The waitress looked at us kind of funny and after we encouraged her (greatly) she looked at the girls and says: “balls, they are Buffalo Balls, you know TESTICLES!”  I couldn’t stop laughing.  Matt was laughing as well.  Bear looked at us like we were insane.  Sunshine shrugged and said: “oh, well…” and grabbed another piece.   Feel free to send any donations for the girls therapy to: “Isabelle&Matt’squestionablepatenting.org.”

***I know I am a mess :)

***I know I am a mess 🙂

Ingredients:

2 boneless skinless chicken breasts (cooked and shredded, about 4-5 cups of cooked chicken)

1 cup chicken wing sauce

16-ounce cream cheese (Diana says whipped is easier to spread…I didn’t buy it whipped so I whipped it myself!  WHIP IT GOOD!  Who can name that song?)

1 cup Bleu cheese dressing (the thicker the better)

8-ounce bag sharp cheddar cheese (or mexican blend)

How to:

Heat your oven to 350F

Toss your shredded chicken with your wing sauce and set aside.

In a casserole dish (9X13) spread 16 oz of cream cheese.  Then about 1/2 jar of  Bleu cheese dressing.  Top with the (cooked) chicken (tossed with wing sauce) then the 8 oz bag of sharp shredded cheese.  Bake in your preheated oven until cheese is bubbly, about 45 minutes.  Serve with Tostitos Scoops or Fritos, and for an added healthy kick some carrots and celery!

Pre-oven:

already excited about this dip!

already excited about this dip!

Post-oven:

    Delicious Buffalo Dip

Delicious Buffalo Dip

I have heard of many different versions of this recipe and I am certain they are all top notch…I just know Diana wouldn’t put her name on something she wasn’t proud of, that’s the kind of girl she is!  Trust me, I am not saying it this because we go way back and she knows stuff about me I hope she takes to her grave! 😉

Printer friendly: Buffalo Chicken Dip

Peace and Oysters,

Isabelle

Note: I was going to take another picture; a serving of the dip.  It was GONE in a flash.  And it’s kind of messy and ugly…but delicious!

7 thoughts on “Diana’s Buffalo Chicken Dip

  1. Hilarious!! Along those lines, my 6yo recently came to me before a shower one night, spread his legs with ‘ball in hand’ told me, “Mommy, look, I just found this ‘ball-thing.'” I had to tell him later there were two of those ‘ball-things.’ LOL! Kids are so funny!

    Yummy recipe. You can not go wrong when there is cheddar and cream cheese in a recipe!! I have a similar recipe which actually has chopped celery in it. My mouth is watering now!

  2. Pingback: Superbowl Grub | Isabelle at home

  3. Pingback: Creamy Pork Taco Soup | Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

