Request: Chicken Gyros

Here in our lovely Indianapolis City we have the most amazing delicious exquisite  Greek restaurant called: Santorini’s.  It is absolute perfection.  I don’t say things like that lightly or easily.  I am pretty picky….especially about the service.  I truly dislike bad service.  So Matt and I found ourselves on a “happenstance” date…you know: we didn’t plan or expect to go on a lovely date but my parents in town, one thing lead to another and “wham bam thank you m’am” I have my husband all to myself!

Here is Santorini’s web site: Santorini\’s Greek Kitchen

Not too long ago, the restaurant had some serious rebuilding to do due to an awful fire that destroyed most of the place.  Mr. Man actually happened to be one of the firefighters that fought and tried to save the place.  So, when he got home the next day from the firehouse, I was pretty upset with us for never (at that time) having been there to eat.  Needless to say, I quickly made a mental note to go there asap (when rebuilding was complete).

Back at home, we couldn’t forget about the meal.  We talked about it, told friends about it….dreamt about it…salivated about it….etc… This morning Matt said: “how about Greek chicken or something like that for dinner?”  Well, always up for a challenge I put my best spoon forward and made chicken gyros.  I also made Greek potatoes but not quite there yet.  I need to work this recipe a bit more.  BUT, my gyros were so good and lots of flavors!  Try it, the recipe is really easy.

Ingredients:

2 pounds chicken tenders (no skin or bones)

1/2 cup plain yogurt (Greek yogurt if you have it)

2 tablespoon dried oregano (you could use fresh Greek oregano if you want: 4 tablespoons)

2 cloves garlic crushed and diced

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 tablespoon lemon juice

You may also want these toppings:

Tzaziki (see recipe from previous post: Tasty Tzaziki )

Tomatoes chopped into large pieces

Shredded lettuce

Red onion sliced thinly

Pita bread (I used the pocketless pitas but any will do)

How to:

In a large bowl mix your yogurt, dried oregano, garlic, olive oil and lemon juice.  Put your chicken tenderloins in a large resealable bag, add your yogurt marinade.  Set in your fridge for at least 5-8 hours.

Meanwhile, make your Tzaziki and keep your dip in the refrigerator until ready to use.  I did add a little bit of dried oregano to my Tzaziki to keep the flavor of my marinade throughout the dish.  1 teaspoon dried oregano should do it.

When ready heat your grill.  Grill your marinated chicken until no longer pink.  Each grill is different so I am guessing about a total of 15-20 minutes should do it.  Please note that I am always careful not to put my chicken on a direct flame.  Slow and steady will make very juicy chicken!

Once your chicken is cooked, take your pitas and grill them one both sides.  No more than 1 minute per side.

Assemble your gyros.  Lay your pita on a flat surface and spoon 1-2 heaping tablespoon of Tzaziki at the bottom.  Top with 2-3 pieces of chicken (depending on size).  Add 1 big tablespoon each of chopped tomatoes, sliced red onion and shredded lettuce.  Top with more Tzaziki (about 1-2 tablespoons)

Printer friendly: Chicken Gyros

Peace and happenstance,

Isabelle

5 thoughts on “Request: Chicken Gyros

  1. Looks Delicious! We have a great Greek place by our house, too. They make their own pitas….I think I need to go there for lunch now!

  2. These look amazing! I have leftover smoked turkey and think I will use that meat! Isabelle, I do have a question for you, what do you think of the gluten diet?? I think I have a problem and been struggling with weight most of my adult life. I’m off bread right now and feel so much better! I’m not sure if it’s a wheat allergy or not!

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

