Tropical Cookies

I had this huge craving for Macadamia nuts.  I was debating making blondies with them or maybe a pie…then it hit me COOKIES.  Also, I can have more than one.  Sad but true.  I feel bad when I have more than one brownie/blondie.  I do like pie but I don’t love pie… I LOVE homemade cookies.  If this sounds familiar it is because I have said it before…but my love hasn’t faded, it is growing and my cravings are never ignored!

Please know that I am calling them tropical cookies simply because I feel Macadamia nuts, coconut, rum and white chocolate remind me of the islands.  Maybe I should have made myself a Pina Colada and called it a day!  Alas, I made LOTS of cookies…big cookies!😉

Ingredients:

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 cup quick oats

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

1 cup unsalted butter

3/4 cup light brown sugar

2 eggs

1 tablespoon rum (I guess you could use rum flavoring…I guess…)

1 cup Macadamia nuts chopped roughly

1 cup sweetened shredded coconut

1 cup white chocolate chips

How to:

Preheat your oven to 375F

Line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper or Silpat.  Set aside.

In a medium bowl mix your flour, baking soda and salt.  Set aside.

In your mixer or large bowl, cream your butter until soft and light.  Add your brown sugar and mix well.  Add your 2 eggs and rum.  Mix well.  Add your quick oats, mix until just blended.  Add your flour mixture, again mix until just blended.  Finally add your coconut, Macadamia nuts and white chocolate. Mix well.  I usually stop the mixer at this point and mix by hand.  I have to make sure I have even distribution of coconut, white chocolate and macadamia nuts….

Using a medium size scoop drop your cookie dough on your prepared baking sheets.

Pre-oven:

Bake in your preheated oven for 12-14 minutes until lightly golden.

Printer friendly: Tropical Cookies

Peace and Pina Colada,

Isabelle

Note: I am allergic to fresh coconut.  I have to mention it because some people know this and might think I have lost my mind.  I am allowed to eat it with moderation…the dried stuff that is!

Go check out Sweet as Sugar Cookies: Sweet for a Saturday  because Lisa’s blog is beautiful and sweet!🙂

6 thoughts on “Tropical Cookies

  1. Yum! Homemade cookies are so dangerous to me. I can eat and eat and eat them. Maybe that’s why I pack on 5 pounds at Christmas.🙂 These look delicious!

  2. Pingback: Isabelle Cookies | Pafos Photos

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

