Kasia’s Baked Brie with Shrimp

I am a lucky girl.  Believe me, I say this while I have finally given in to the fact that I am fighting the flu.  I am not a good nurse (see previous post;  being a good nurse !) but I am even more so a bad bad bad patient.  I hate being sick.  I truly hate being sick.  I annoy myself being sick.  But I am still a lucky girl.  I am not one to fight what is…so I am sick, let’s move on.

My sweet husband (whom by the way gave me his SICKNESS! ooops moving on) found this amazing web site: Befriendyourartists.com

You have to go check out Kasia’s art, woodwork, paintings…etc… she is so amazingly talented it is sick! (not like me but awesome!)

She also has a cookbook called: Alaskan Seafood on the Sea.  It is quite lovely to read and her pictures are so cool.  Matt got it for me, because he knows I have a slight obsession with cookbooks!  I have found several recipes I want to try.  First one: Baked Brie with Shrimp.  Why? well because most of all I am obsessed with Brie.  It reminds me of my childhood.  At the risk of getting myself in a heap of trouble, I will tell you that my paternal grandmother was not a “big” cook (carefully chosen word) BUT she would always buy me the best cheeses for my morning breakfast anytime we visited (see I am lucky…I was also her only granddaughter!)  Brie was my favorite, still is.  So, brie with shrimp and dough!  Oh, yes!

Ingredients:

10 sheets of phyllo dough

3 tbsp melted butter

1 small wheel of brie (4-6-inches)

6-10 Shrimp cooked (see note below on shrimp)

1 tbsp Brandy

How to:

Preheat your oven to 350F

Prepare a baking sheet with parchment paper or Silpat.  Set aside.  (I didn’t do this because I was rushing…I should have!)

Prep each layer of phyllo dough  by brushing melted butter on each layer and stacking them.  (Keep other layers under damp towel while working on each layer).  Place brie at the center, pile the shrimp on the brie, lightly salt and drizzle brandy over shrimp.  Gather all sides of dough to the top and bunch it, securing with toothpicks or cooking twine.

Layering:

Closing the packet (before the oven)

Bake in your preheated oven for 20 minutes or until golden.  Remove from oven, place on a serving platter with crackers or sliced bread.  I prefer a thinly sliced baguette.  Use what you like unless you invite me over then please have a thinly slice baguette😉

Yum!

Digging in:

DELICIOUS!  Thank you Kasia🙂

Printer friendly:  Kasia’s Baked Brie with Shrimp

I made this for my beautiful BFF Jennifer and her hubby JD….JD is a computer genius (or nerd, either way) I need his help.  Jennifer is sane…I also need her help!  Yep, my life in a nut shell!

Peace and “I am sick, mommy come help me!”,

Isabelle

Note #1: for my shrimp: after I cleaned them and deviened them, tossed with 1 tablespoon olive oil, salt, pepper and 1 crushed garlic clove.  Put them in a hot 350F oven for 6-8 minutes.  That’s all.

Note #2: I did remove a little bit of the top “rind” of my brie so that the shrimp could sink into the loveliness of the hot cheese!

4 thoughts on “Kasia’s Baked Brie with Shrimp

  1. Wow! That looks amazing! I’m allergic to shrimp – which is a bummer because I love it – but I have a friend who would go ga-ga over this! I’ll share it! Thanks!

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

