Nancy’s cobbler

This post is loooong overdue.

First off her beautiful name is Nasreen… Isn’t that just perfect?  I love it.

But everyone calls her Nancy, so for the sake of this story, I too shall call her Nancy.  Nancy told me a very personal tale about a blackberry cobbler.  It had been a rough night so I guess it really touched me.  So here I am thinking about making this “new” cobbler recipe truly hers….

Funny thing is we have a huge blackberry patch on our property, I try to get the peeps to help but somehow I am always the one (and occasionally Bear-our 11 year old daughter) picking the berries.  I don’t mind it, I’m good with my time alone.

So needless to say I have a lot of blackberries to work with!  She couldn’t have asked a better blackberry expert…or storer (?).

I went to work…so basically I walked up the stairs to the kitchen from my other work in the office basement. (wow, the excitement!)

Here is what I think will work just fine: (by the way, as usual I had to change it up and couldn’t use only blackberries because…well because I am not always willing to cooperate, there I said it!)

Ingredients:

For the fruits:

2 cups fresh or frozen blackberries (serious…I love to state the obvious!)

1 pear cut into bite size pieces

2 cups fresh or frozen strawberries sliced

Zest and juice of one lime

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup flour

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

For the dough:

1 1/4 cup all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup unsalted butter (at room temperature)

1/2 cup sugar

1 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 teaspoon almond extract

How to:

Preheat your oven to 350F

Grease an 9X9 or 8X8 pan.  Set aside.

In a larger bowl, put your fruits add your lime juice and zest.  Set aside.  In another bowl mix your brown sugar, flour and cinnamon.  Add your flour mixture to your fruits and toss well to cover all.  Put your fruits in your prepared pan.  Set aside.

In a medium bowl mix your flour, baking powder, cinnamon, and salt.  Set aside.  In a large bowl or mixer, cream your butter and sugar.  Add your egg and mix well, next add your vanilla and almond extract.  Add your flour mixture at once and mix until just blended.  Drop your dough by the spoonful over your fruits.  Nothing needs to be perfect but try to cover your fruits as much as possible.  There is beauty in imperfection.

Bake in your preheated oven for about 30-40minutes or until lightly brown and fruits are bubbling.

Serve with whipped cream or your favorite vanilla ice cream.

Matt’s serving last night!  My plan was to take the whole thing to Nancy but I guess not!  Matt did say it was delicious, he also said he wishes he could swim in it??? OK….

Printer friendly:  Nancy’s 3 fruit cobbler

Peace and Berries,

Isabelle

Note; my recipe is also on Delightfully Dowling: Mangia Mondays

also on Sweet as Sugar Cookies: Sweet for Saturday

also linked to: real Sustenance: Seasonal Sunday

5 thoughts on “Nancy’s cobbler

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

