Humor me Hummus

DO NOT SEND HATE MAIL

I know this recipe will sound and look like a lot of hummus recipes you may make or have seen or eaten or whatever….I know but listen I can’t re-invent the wheel.  It is what it is…which by the way is my life’s motto…ask anyone, I am so annoying I say it all the time…as if it’s a fix all!  Which it is….come on: “IT IS WHAT IT IS” .  Perfect!

clever, right?  ;)

clever, right? 😉

*This is my actual sign over my pantry’s door! (I wasn’t kidding)

This is a simple basic hummus recipe.  That’s all.  I just went with what I know about hummus and made it.  Because I eat hummus all the time!  I know what it’s made of and I don’t need 15 different ways to make it….just “spruce” it up a little!

Ingredients:

1 15-oz can garbanzo beans (chickpeas) drained

2 garlic cloves minced or grated

3 tablespoon Tahini (sesame paste)

3 tablespoon olive oil (plus 1 tablespoon more to serve)

Zest and juice of 1 lemon

Splash hot sauce (optional, I like the “tanginess” of hot sauce)

Salt and pepper to taste

Toasted sesame seeds (optional, about 1 teaspoon)

How to:

Grab your food processor and fill it with all these lovely ingredients (except the 1 tablespoon olive oil and toasted sesame seeds).

all in....ready to rock

all in….ready to rock

Push the button and voila!  Put your hummus in your serving bowl and drizzle with the extra 1 tablespoon olive oil.  Top with toasted sesame seeds if using.

Classic Delicious Hummus

Classic Delicious Hummus

How to “spruce” up your basic hummus, top with:

~1-2 tablespoon of basil pesto

~chopped black and green olives

~chopped roasted red peppers

~chopped tomatoes and red onions tossed with olive oil

~1 jalapeno pepper finely diced

ETC…. the possibilities are endless

Printer friendly: Humor Me Hummus

Peace and humor,

Isabelle

7 thoughts on “Humor me Hummus

  1. My hubby and son tried making a hummus a a while back and they weren’t too thrilled with the results. I’ll have to forward this one along to them. They love hummus. 🙂

  2. I think it looks fantastic and I can’t wait to try it. Hopefully this weekend. For the longest time I didn’t think I would like hummus because I always avoided garbanzo beans at the salad bar. But now I have grown up. Ha ha.

  3. Pingback: Spinach, Onions and Bacon Frittata | Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

