My Uncle’s Famous Caramel Sauce

My Uncle Andre’s Famous Caramel Sauce

Let me tell you that if my mom comes over to visit and the first thing she tells me  about is this caramel sauce…well it really must be something!  I mean she came all the way from Canada to see her favorite daughter (also her only daughter!) to talk caramel??   So I emailed my Uncle Andre (my dad’s brother) and asked if I could have the recipe and permission to share with you my friends!

He replied immediately and gave me his blessings!  Here’s the catch…he said more than once: “you must keep stirring, don’t leave the caramel alone, stir, stir, stir”.  What has my mom been telling him about me?  My lack of focus, the fact that I think I can multi-task well, or maybe it just a family trait that we all share.

Ingredients:

2 cups light brown sugar

1 cup light corn syrup

1/4 cup butter

1/2 cup condensed milk

3/4 cup extremely hot water (almost boiling)

How to:

In a medium sauce pan, put your brown sugar, corn syrup and butter.  Starting on medium to low heat, carefully and patiently stir until your butter is melted.  Turning up the heat (ever so slightly) bring to a boil, constantly stirring.  You want to have a very smooth and silky texture (no grainy sugar bits).  Stir your mixture for about 5-7 minutes.

smelling fabulous!

Remove from the heat and add your condensed milk.  Stirring vigorously (my Uncle’s word) in order to mix everything very well.

Add 3/4 cup of very hot water.  Stirring (still) constantly for about 10 minutes to cool your caramel.

The most important thing is not to bring your heat up too quickly, otherwise you will burn your caramel and we all know burnt caramel tastes nasty.  The second important thing is the stirring.  It will help the consistency of your caramel.

feel free to get more creative than me with your little containers!

In my family, we eat this on toast in the morning.  You may also want to drizzle the caramel over your favorite ice cream (quite decadent I must say) or even over a beautiful apple pie! OH MY!

Printer friendly: Uncle Andre’s Famous Caramel Sauce

Peace and stir-stir-stir,

Isabelle

note: I gave 3  jars of caramel sauce to 3 lovely ladies…hopefully the reviews will be good! 🙂

Recipe also featured on Sweet as Sugar Cookies: Sweet for a Saturday

13 thoughts on “My Uncle’s Famous Caramel Sauce

  1. My dad would really enjoy this – and I love the little jars. Not sure if it’s one I should attempt though…I definitely have some kind of multitasking disorder – too many things going at once always!

  2. Wow! That looks amazing! My sister drizzles caramel over her coffee every morning….I think I’ll make her some!

  3. Looks delish. I will have to try this one. Oh, my I think I’m running out of places to file. I added your link to my fav’s until I can try out your recipe… And you may feel free to check out my blog @ http://bakersmom.blogspot.com/
    I’m usually into butter and sugar (cookies and cakes and…) but here lately with all the veggies coming in, I have resorted to more healthy fare. Mom always said, “Eat your vegetables BEFORE dessert!” Well, I’m doing my share 🙂 OBTW, I bought my first pasta machine…you know the ones from Italy with all the instructions in …. well…uh….Italian. Thank goodness pictures bridge the gap! I will have to check out your site more when I’m not on a mission. How did I ever get so off task. tsk tsk tsk Thank’s for friending me.

  4. Caramel is my all time favorite thing! I eat it over ice cream, on apple pie, on banana bread, bread pudding, etc., etc., But my dirty little secret is that I can eat it plain with a spoon right out of the jar.
    I will definitely try this recipe. Thanks for sharing.

  5. Do you think that I could substitute heavy cream for the condensed milk? I usually have cream in my refrigerator but no condensed milk in my cupboard.

  6. Pingback: Apple and Sour Cream Coffee Cake « Isabelle at home

  7. Pingback: Homemade Holiday Gifts & Treats. Part One: Sweets | Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

