Not.Appropriate.Behavior

This is not at all what you might first think it is.  I read someone’s blog not too long ago and although the post was interesting, what caught my attention more than anything else was her words: Not.Appropriate.Behavior.  She said this with such anger and conviction….what am I to do?

I am guilty. I tend to say or mostly think the wrong thing at the wrong time.  I can’t help it.  I have a lot of brain farts (YES, I just said brain farts)…take a moment…it will be OK.

Now, don’t get me wrong, this lady went on for quite some time about a serious topic and as much as I want to give her full credit…well this is not the place nor time.  Life’s not that complicated.  I mean, it has some serious fall on your behind kind of moments but it’s life.  We all have to deal with it right?  It is what it is.

What if?

I made breakfast for dinner for a whole week.

I ate dessert first for a month.

I stopped using utensils.

I used my good china everyday.

I poured our milk in crystal glasses.

Here’s to us, with all our little breaking points and most annoying habits!  Way to go real people!

We are having egg casserole for dinner.  I am using my china.  I will however use my utensils!😉

Ingredients:

2 tablespoons butter
1 leek thinly sliced (only white and light green parts, cleaned of little sandy bits)
Salt and Pepper
8 large eggs
1 quart milk ( 4 cups)
8 thick slices bread  cut in 1/2 (I use country bread and slice it about 1/2 in. see above pic.)
1/2 package bacon cooked (not too crispy)
2 tablespoons fresh thyme (if using dry use only 1 teaspoon)
1 cup grated Swiss cheese
1 cup grated cheddar (mild or sharp)
How to:
Preheat oven to 330F
Butter a 9×13 casserole dish
In a large pan, heat your butter. Add your onions and leek, cook  until nice and soft (on low heat) you don’t want to burn them. Season with salt and pepper. Transfer to a bowl to cool.
Whisk eggs and milk, add thyme, salt and pepper. Set aside
Layer bread, bacon, onion & leek mixture and cheeses (shingle style…at an angle/overlapping) See pic:


Pour your eggs & milk batter over top. Pressing gently so the bread absorbs the liquid.

Before the oven:


Bake in your preheated oven for about 1 hour. It will get golden brown.  It will “puff” up but somewhat fall down once you pull it out of the oven.


You can prep most of it the night before, assemble but do not put your egg and milk just before you bake it.

***This is my china…in fact, it was my mom’s which she was given on her wedding day 43 years ago this week! Isn’t that something!

This recipe was inspired by a Martha Stewart (the Queen of all things!) recipe.  I love Martha but unfortunately I do not live where “fancy” ingredients are readily available i.e. brioche (bread), fontina cheese, etc…  I would love to cook with these ingredients and for you guys to try them.  I know they are not always easily available.  Which is why I changed the recipe with ingredients we can all find at our local grocery store.

Printer friendly:  Appropriate Egg Casserole

Peace and not appropriate,

Isabelle

5 thoughts on “Not.Appropriate.Behavior

  1. Hoo boy. I hope that wasn’t MY big trap. Your egg casserole would surely silence me though; it looks scrummy! And congratulations to your folks, Isabelle!

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

