Green Acres vs Fried Green Tomatoes

This ain’t no “Green Acres”.  Evidently, I am no Eva Gabor but it is green and we have a few acres!  I know because I had the pleasure and honor of mowing the grass today, rototill the garden and work on the chicken coop….I must tell you that it has been raining cats and dogs here in Indiana for the past 40 days…OK, so maybe not that long but we have had quite the raining spring so far.  Lots of rain= Lots of mud in the garden!

I actually love to mow the grass; LOVE IT!  Matt and I usually fight over who’s turn it is to mow.  This may sound crazy but it is so calming and relaxing.  Just sitting there enjoying the outdoors, no worries, no cell phone ringing, no kids asking for food, no dogs laying in my way, no husband asking for “stuff”….I could go on.

Today was a long one, Matt still can’t do much because of his shoulder so it is up to me….that’s when I don’t like it.  I like to do things because I WANT to do them not because I HAVE to do them…see how childish I am….sad, just sad!

Here is me rototilling (with a circa 1940 heavy and not easy to work rototiller!)

And here is Matt supervising my work…

In honor of “green” I decided to make Fried Green Tomatoes.  I also happen to absolutely love them but that’s beside the point. 😉

Ingredients:

2 large green tomatoes (not really an other option here!)

1 cup buttermilk

few dashes of hot sauce

1 cup corn meal

salt and pepper

Canola Oil (for cooking)

Crazy Dipping Sauce (optional)

How to:

Lay paper towels on a cookie sheet, set aside.  (if you plan on doubling this recipe and making a LOT of tomatoes then turn your oven to 300F at the same time)

Using a serrated knife slice your green tomatoes 1/4-inch thick and set aside.

In a shallow bowl (I used a pie plate), mix your buttermilk and your hot sauce.  Don’t worry it only gives it flavor.  Nothing too spicy…yet..until you get to the crazy sauce!  Lay your sliced tomatoes in your buttermilk.  Make sure everything is covered.  Set aside.  (Your tomatoes will be OK for a good 30 minutes…maybe it’s time to have a glass of wine and…RELAX…I mean we are making fried green tomatoes not doing brain surgery!)

While your tomatoes are getting a new personality, prepare your cornmeal.  In another shallow bowl put your cornmeal and season with salt and pepper (a lot of pepper).  Set aside.

In a large frying pan put 1/2-inch of canola oil (again simply use what you like best…I like canola…although I am friendly with safflower oil as well!)  Heat your oil.

Using your hands or whatever works best for you, take your “buttermilked” (new word) tomatoes one at a time and dip them in the corn meal (you may want to shake off any excess buttermilk), and put in your frying pan.  I was able to fit 3 at a time.  They should take 2-3 minutes per sides (max) once your oil is hot please reduce to medium or you will burn your tomatoes (yuck!).  Fry your tomatoes until all done.  Lay them on your paper towel lined cookie sheet and keep in the oven until ready to serve.

Serve with Crazy Dipping Sauce….

Crazy Dipping Sauce:

1/2 cup light mayonnaise

1/2 cup plain low fat yogurt

3-4 dashes hot sauce

1-2 pepperoncini chopped finely

Dash cayenne pepper (or more to taste)

How to:

Mix it all together….I know; crazy, right? 🙂

I love fried green tomatoes, I love the movie Fried Green Tomatoes (I mean Kathy Bates in Saran Wrap…YES!) I secretly wish I was born in the South….(I envy my sister-in-law Dee so MUCH!) I LOVE anything Southern!  I LOVE anything Southern, yes I had to say it twice!

Printer friendly: Fried Green Tomatoes

Peace y’all,

Isabelle

Here is the cool picture my sweet and beautiful Sunshine took after I dove in to the green tomatoes…she grabbed the camera and did what she does: be creative!

Boy oh boy were they good….YUM!

9 thoughts on “Green Acres vs Fried Green Tomatoes

  1. Those look yummy. I have some green tomatoes in the garden right now but have been waiting for them to turn red. Guess I could sacrifice a couple and try your recipe out! I love the pics of Indiana my night in shining armor is from Greenfield just outside of Indiananpolis.Have fun in your garden.

  2. I’ve never had fried green tomatoes, but they look delicious. And I know exactly what you mean about fighting over who gets to mow – only we do it over shoveling snow. We both just find that so relaxing. Weird right?! Ha! Here’s to everything turning green again!

  3. Those are some big ass tomatoes! Almost as big as your roto-tiller.

    I, too, love mowing and the women in my family used to fight (maybe a bit strong of a term) over who got to mow our acreage.

    Now, we’ve just a patch of green, an electric push-mower, and a spouse who insists on doing all the mowing himself.

    Oh, well. That’ll give me time to try your tomatoes!

  4. Another delightful post AND “action shots” — PLUS Crazy Dipping Sauce… your blog is mandatory reading!🙂

    I bought Fried Green Tomatoes (the movie) this year because I love it, too.🙂 But the “real thing” (the food) is too divine for words… except yours. Perfect!

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

