More Eggplant…and Pasta :)

I’m the cook here…I do the grocery shopping, the shopping list, the menu, the ideas….etc..I am always open for suggestions and feel free to write anything you may want on the shopping list.  I will usually buy it (unless you put pop tarts that’s a big no-no!).

So tonight, I wanted eggplant and pasta and I wanted to use the grill.   No one spoke up about supper, that’s not my fault!  I had this craving for pasta, might have something to do with the fact that I played 2 soccer games and I am not 18 anymore!  Lovely glass of wine in hand, I had Mr. Man fire up the grill and out came the eggplant and the garlic…it was so perfect.  BONUS: NO RAIN!

Note to self: when playing soccer against people who tell you: “when I played professionally…” WHAT?  One must leave and never turn back…I didn’t. By the way, the only professional thing about me is my clumsiness and it’s an art really!

Ingredients:

1 medium eggplant

salt, pepper and dried oregano (for grilling the eggplant)

5 cloves garlic (unpeeled)

1/2 medium onion diced

1 can crushed tomatoes

2 tablespoons capers

1 /2 cup red wine (please don’t use cooking wine…if anything use beef or vegetable broth)

2 tablespoon fresh oregano (optional, but you will be missing out)

1 pound Linguini noodles cooked according to packaging, please save 1/2 cup of your cooking liquid in case your sauce gets freaky on you and thickens like crazy!

How to:

Slice your eggplant about 1/2-inch thick.  Lay your slices on a baking sheet and drizzle with olive oil.  Sprinkle with salt, pepper and dried oregano.  Do the same thing on the other side.

At the same time, put 5 unpeeled garlic cloves in a piece of foil, drizzle with olive oil and wrap tightly.  Set this on your grill when you are grilling your eggplant.  This is the most magical thing that will happen to your sauce.  Trust me…I’m a professional!  OK, I’m not…let’s move on… Grill you eggplant slices on medium heat for about 4 minutes per side.  Remove and set aside.  Remove your garlic as well.

In a large pan, heat 2 tablespoons olive oil and add your chopped onion.  Cook on medium for 4-5 minutes until soft and fragrant.  Add your garlic “paste”.  See picture but here is the thing about the garlic, it will be soft like butter after being on the grill.  Simply squeeze the garlic out of its skin and using the back of a large knife smear the garlic into a soft paste.  So delicious.  (you should try it on soft french bread, simply amazing)

Add your wine, cook for 4-5 minutes until reduced slightly.  Add our crushed tomatoes.  Cook for 3-5 minutes more. Dice your cooled eggplant into 1-inch pieces.  Add your grilled eggplant and your fresh oregano if using.  Cook for 8-10 minutes more.  Add your capers.  Finally cook 3-4 minutes more.  Serve over your cooked pasta.

Serve with warm fresh bread, fresh Parmesan and at our house crushed red peppers.

I am running out of excuses as to why my pictures are not all that great, I get hungry, I just want to sit down and dive in, I am not patient…I am not a professional!  But believe me this is so delicious, the flavor of the grilled eggplant and the loveliness of the garlic are absolutely perfect.

Printer friendly: Grilled Eggplant Pasta

Have a super wonderful and filled with surprises day!

Peace and soccer, (I earned it!)

Isabelle

4 thoughts on “More Eggplant…and Pasta :)

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

