Nadine’s Cake

My friend Jenny’s mom is a great cook.  GREAT!  She is also the most humble person you will meet.  She never takes credit for anything.  She always says: “oh, it was nothing.”  Yet it is always something!

I met Nadine playing Euchre.  For those of you who don’t know what Euchre is well lucky you, I am a nerd and I love to share the information…

Euchre: a card game in which each player is dealt five cards and the player making trump must take three tricks to win a hand.

Thank you Merriam-Webster On-Line Dictionary!

It is mostly played in the Mid-West.  I didn’t know about Euchre or Euchre Clubs until I moved to Indiana.  Aunt Joyce (sassy pork) invited me to be a sub for her monthly Euchre Club.  That was 5 years ago…I loved it…and there was WINE!  Double whammy for Isabelle!  I also have met some wonderful and FUNNY ladies at this Euchre Club…and they made me a permanent member that night!  It’s the accent and my incredibly crazy stories I tell them about my life as a circus! 🙂

So at our last Euchre “evening”, Nadine made this amazing cake, kind of like a coffee cake but a little less cakey…just go with it!  I asked for the recipe and the permission to blog it.  She said yes! (duh)

Ingredients:

2 package crescent rolls

1 1/2 cup sugar

1 egg, separated (at room temperature)

8 ounce package cream cheese (at room temperature)

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 teaspoon almond extract

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 cup chopped walnuts

Glaze (optional)

How to:

Preheat your oven to 350F

Butter or spray an 9 x 13 inch baking pan.  Lay one package of crescent roll at the bottom of your prepared pan.  Set aside.

Cream 1 cup sugar, egg yolk, cream cheese, vanilla and almond extract. Pour over your layer of crescent roll.  Lay other package of rolls over mixture.  Brush with egg white, don’t over do it, you’re not making scramble eggs here!  Mix cinnamon, remaining sugar and walnuts and sprinkle on top.  Bake 350 for 30 minutes.
The glaze: I mixed  2 teaspoons Amaretto with  2 tablespoons powdered sugar and drizzled on top while still warm.
It smells so delicious:
smells delicious!

smells delicious!

Little afternoon snack…
yummy for me :)

yummy for me 🙂

By the way, I made this yesterday morning.  I had a very very long day building/working on our chicken coop.  I thought I could make this early morning and it would be a great dessert for supper….it was gone by 3!
Printer friendly: Nadine’s cake
Peace and Cake (sounds like piece of cake !),
Isabelle
Note: This cake is featured on both Mangia Mondays: My Sweet and Savory & the lovely:  Delightfully Dowling
3 thoughts on “Nadine’s Cake

  1. Isabelle, Euchre wouldn’t be the same with out you! You are a joy! Thanks for sharing you’re blog with us! It makes my days start out with a smile!

  2. Euchre is a blast and your group sounds FUN — wine AND this cake?! — can I join? 🙂 (Another Midwest card game that I miss is Pinochle.)

  3. Pingback: Pecan Pie Bars | Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

