5 Minute CornBread

If you have been lucky enough to follow my silly adventures since day 1 then you know about the cornbread .  It is famous…in my circle of 20!  Regardless, it is pretty darn good if I say so myself.  But it is time consuming…and it takes an hour to cook.  I didn’t have an hour to give to cornbread tonight.  My mom made her pea soup and Matt wanted cornbread to go with it.  I had a box of corn bread mix (from one of my famous grocery outings…I have no clue why I bought it) but I cannot just make a box of something without “sprucing” it up as I call it.

Ingredients:

1 box cornbread mix (also called cornbread muffin mix…OK, it’s the Jiffy stuff…let’s call it what it is!)

1 egg

1/2 cup shredded cheese (I had mozzarella but I think the mexican mix would be lovely)

1 can 15-ounces cream of corn

2 tablespoons melted butter

How to:

Preheat your oven to 400F

Butter or spray an 8×8 square pan.  Set aside.

In a large pretty bowl, what? I said a pretty bowl because it will be so much more fun….not really but this is so simple and easy, I have to stretch the recipe…..OK, I know I can be really annoying….let’s move on.

Put all your ingredients in a large bowl of your choice.  Mix well and pour in your prepared pan.  Bake in your preheated oven for about 20 minutes (just keep an eye on it, you know your oven).  Enjoy!  May I suggest you serve this with butter and honey?  I don’t put honey because I have issues with it but my peeps say it is delicious!

The pan….I know very exciting!

The cornbread was extremely moist and actually very good for such a quick recipe!

Printer friendly: 5 Minute Corn Bread

On an interesting note, I fell entering our house again today and apparently even the dogs don’t care anymore because they walked passed me to get outside!

Peace and pretty bowls,

Isabelle

Confession: I made this recipe (and wrote the post) before I left in a rush for Florida to see/help Janine….I didn’t have my scan disk with my pics so I couldn’t post.  I might be completely wrong on the cooking time because I forgot to write it down….if you need to correct me!

3 thoughts on “5 Minute CornBread

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

