The last straw…berry cocktail!

Hopefully my strawberry saga is coming to an end.  You have to admit for a girl who doesn’t like strawberry I did OK.  Well, you don’t have to agree but I am giving myself a little pat on the back, a good ol’ high five, an atta girl… I feel better already🙂

So here is the twist; I do love cocktails, but truthfully I am a wine kind of person with the occasional vodka and diet tonic (I know too much info but I won’t lie!)  The problem with cocktails: martinis, daquiris, etc… is that they take time to make.  I AM NOT a patient person.  Instant gratification should be my middle name (alas it’s Marie!).  But for this special drink, I encourage you to take your time and let it “marinate” properly.  Trust me it’s worth it!

Ingredients:

1 cup sliced strawberries

1 cup vodka

1/2 cup triple sec

1/2 cup orange juice

Juice half lime (keep other half for decorations)

1/4 cup sugar

a few strawberries for decorations

Sprite (diet or regular) or Club Soda

How to:

In a large bowl or your food processor, put your strawberries, vodka, orange juice, triple sec, sugar and lime juice.  Puree until you have no more strawberry chunks (technical word of the day!).  If not using your food processor (like me) you may use an immersion blender and have the same results.

Put in a container with a lid and set in your refrigerator for 4-5 hours.

After your required 4-5 hours of “getting to know each other” time.  Strain your mixture through a fine sieve.  You don’t have to but the little seeds from the strawberry is nothing you want stuck in your teeth….just saying…

Pull out your chilled martini glasses and fill 3/4 full with your strawberry mixture and add about 1 -ounce of club soda or sprite.  Finish with a piece of lime and strawberry (omit for Isabelle).

Here goes:

Note: please put your martini glasses or any glasses you wish to use in the freezer when you put your mixture in the refrigerator.  Nothing makes a martini taste better than an extremely chilled glass!

Printer friendly: Strawberry Cocktail

Peace and booze (sorry….I couldn’t resist!)

Isabelle

3 thoughts on “The last straw…berry cocktail!

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

