Leek and Onion Tart

I probably have 5 different tarts that I make on a regular basis.  I guess if you are a tart then you like tarts.  Please don’t even pretend you don’t think I am a tart…I am OK with my tartness.  I work it (dear lord, I have to hush now…..)

This recipe was inspired by a recipe from Cooking Light.

I did change pretty much everything…as usual.

Ingredients:

1 store bought pie dough (let’s now revisit the fact that I can’t be bothered to make pie dough…OK…soon)

1 medium onion thinly sliced

1 leek thinly sliced (see pics below, only the white and light green part, put in a bowl with cool water to clean all the sandy parts)

1 teaspoon fresh thyme chopped

1 teaspoon fresh rosemary chopped

1/4 cup gorgonzola cheese

3/4 cup shredded Swiss cheese

1 egg, whisked

How to:

Preheat your oven to 425F

Here are the 2 pics in regards to the leek:

Leeks in water (sandy bits will go to the bottom) Dry your leeks on a paper towel.

In a large pan, heat 1 tablespoon of butter and 1 tablespoon of olive oil.  Add your leek, onion,thyme and rosemary cook for 15 minutes on medium to low heat until soft and fragrant.  Set aside.

Place your pie dough on a baking sheet or pizza stone.  In the middle of your dough, spread your Gorgonzola cheese leaving 1-inch border all around.  Top with your onion and leek mixture, spread evenly.  Top with your Swiss cheese.  Fold and “pleat” your 1′ border around your tart.  Using a pastry brush, paint your whisked egg on the edge of your dough.

Bake in your preheated oven for 20-25 minutes

Here is the folding and the space you need to leave for the edge:

Here is my appetizer:

Printer Friendly: Leek and Onion Tart

Peace and Pie,

Isabelle

4 thoughts on “Leek and Onion Tart

  1. That looks really yummy. I’m with you on the store-bought pie crust. I don’t own a rolling pin and refuse to make any recipe that requires one!

    I’ve never made a tart before; you make it look easy. I’ll have to try it.

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

