Heirloom Shortbread Cookies

My friend Denise, (Dee) whom I went to high school with (along with Julie: Oatmeal Chocolate Frogs) has sent me this very special recipe.  It is special because it came all the way from England via her Goodmother: Elsie Minnie Lavers, in the early 1900s.  That, my friends, makes it very special in my opinion.  Also the fact that she was willing to share this recipe with me, well that makes me special! (careful…)

Funny story: Dee and I went to high school together.  She still lives in the same area we grew up in.  I as you know have moved pretty far away (love makes you do crazy things!). In an interesting turn of events, my friend Helen whom I lived with while I was attending college is also her friend.  Helen has now asked Dee and I fives times, if not more, how we know each other.  Every time we say: high school…every time she forgets…then she asks us again.  I guess we have that in common as well: a forgetful (but loving and gorgeous) Helen!

Ingredients:

1/2 cup powdered sugar (or icing sugar)

1/2 cup corn starch

1 1/2 cup flour

1 cup butter (room temperature)

How to:

Preheat your oven to 300F

Mix all your ingredients together in a large bowl.  Simply press balls of dough down to 1/4-inch thick.  Bake in your preheated oven for 8-9 minutes.

On the baking sheet:

And then there was the ICING!  I have to tell I am not a good icing maker.  I don’t like making it and I usually try to find a shortcut.  But since I am always preaching how important it is to try new things then here I go!

Ingredients:

2 cups  powdered (icing) sugar
3 tbsp butter
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1 tsp milk

How to:

Mix all together until creamy.  This icing can be easily dyed with food coloring and is a great addition to an Easter table.  Dee told me to decorate them with a sliver of candied or marashino cherries.

Note: I “tinted” my icing yellow…you will notice my cookies look like deviled eggs…that was an accident…I wasn’t thinking!

Printer friendly: Heirloom Shortbread Cookies

Peace and deviled…

Isabelle

3 thoughts on “Heirloom Shortbread Cookies

  1. Still craving those cookies since I typed out the recipe for you – really glad you enjoyed them!!

    As an added note, we always used to ask my godmother what she did to make them so good… she used to always say it was a secret ingredient…. years later she added to that phrase by saying “I spit in the dough”…… EWWWWWW!!!!

    Thankfully she came clean when it was time to pass on the recipe, phew!!

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

