Strawberry Cake

This cake is almost an obsession.  If you make it for someone they will stalk you until you give up the recipe.  I mean it is so moist, delicious, pretty and EASY.  That shouldn’t be a secret because if you finally decide to give up the recipe…they will know!

 

Strawberry Cake for Mr Man's birthday :)

Strawberry Cake for Mr Man’s birthday🙂


Aunt Joyce told me to buy the Paula Deen’s magazine (from August 2009), it was all about summer cooking.  The recipe was on the front cover.  She said try it.  I didn’t want to.  I hate strawberries.  I know, I know, how can I hate such a delicious fruit?  I don’t know what to tell you but I can’t even stand the thought of eating a fresh strawberry.  It is embarrassing, to the point where if we go somewhere and they are given to me, Mr. Man knows to come to my rescue.  He will “sneakily” take them off my plate and eat them for me.  I return the favor when he is given olives!

All this being said: I love this cake.  I love the taste.  I won’t eat the fresh strawberry decorations around the cake but I will eat the actual cake and the icing!  That, my darlings, is PROGRESS for me!

Ingredients:

1 box white cake mix (I have been known to use yellow when that’s all I have)

1 3-ounce box strawberry flavored instant gelatin (yep JELLO…NOT sugar free)

1 16-ounce bag frozen strawberries thawed and pureed (keep 1/4 cup aside for the icing)

4 large eggs

1/2 cup canola oil (Paula uses vegetable oil but I never buy it)

1/4 cup water

Cream Cheese Strawberry Icing (recipe follows)

Fresh strawberries for decorating (optional)

How to:

Preheat your oven to 350F

Grease 2 round 9-inch or 8-inch round cake (as you know I never listen…I have used a Bunt Cake pan, a rectangle pan, 1 single springform pan…) set aside

In a large bowl or mixer put in your cake mix and strawberry gelatin, mix until just blended.  Add your pureed strawberries, eggs, oil and water.  Mix until well blended.  Divide your batter between your 2 prepared pans.  Bake in your preheated oven for 30-35 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.  If, like me, you are being a rebel with a cause  and using a different cake pan, then just check your cake box for different cooking time.  By the way Paula says 20 minutes cook time for 9-inch round, I tried it, sorry but impossible it takes at least 30 minutes minimum.

Strawberry Cream Cheese Icing:

Ingredient:

1/4 cup butter softened

1 8-ounce package cream cheese at room temperature (I guess you could use low-fat if you want)

1/4 cup pureed & thawed frozen strawberries

6 cups powdered sugar

How to:

In a large bowl, beat your butter and cream cheese until creamy.  Add your pureed strawberries.  Gradually add your powdered sugar and beat until smooth.  You may use some red food coloring (a LITTLE) to make your icing more pink but it’s a chemical…do you really need more chemicals in your body?🙂

Cool your cakes completely and then put your icing and decorate as you wish!

Note: in order to have your cake stay put while you “apply” your icing, simply put a small amount of icing under your first cake.  It will keep your cake in place!

just to make sure the cake sticks around!

just to make sure the cake sticks around!

Here is mine.  Matt requested this cake for his 40th birthday dinner. (see picture at top of my post)

Bar none one of THE best Cake I have ever had!

Bar none one of THE best Cake I have ever had!

I am NOT a good cake decorator, I just care about eating the cake.  I really have no problem if it’s “ugly”.  That’s my story and I am sticking to it!

Here is my piece:

not the best pic but such a beautiful pink color inside!

not the best pic but such a beautiful pink color inside!

Printed Friendly:  Strawberry Cake

Peace and loving Strawberries….NOT,

Isabelle

Here is the link to Paula’s cake:  Paula\’s Strawberry Cake .  As usual I changed a few things.  Only because I couldn’t find the frozen strawberry package she was using and it was in heavy syrup (too much sugar).  Also she uses strawberry extract…I have yet to find out where she gets that…I am too lazy to keep looking, the cake is amazing and doesn’t need it…in MY opinion!

Find this recipe on:

Whipper Berry: Friday Flair Linky Party

Sweet as Sugar Cookies: Sweets for a Saturday

Recipes for my Boys: 

10 thoughts on “Strawberry Cake

  1. Try saving a “sprinkle” of Jello to add to your frosting for color/flavor — but it looked yummy “as is!” (By the way, I’m so proud of your PROGRESS — and your rebel spirit!) Keep doing what WORKS for YOU!🙂

  2. You can get the strawberry extract at Meijer or Kroger. It is made by McCormick,it comes in a small bottle thats in a box with the spices.

  3. Isabelle, I simply must tell you that I LOVE you more with every passing post! It’s da twoof! I LOVE that you are gutsy enough to admit that you don’t like strawberries (!) in a Strawberry Cake post!🙂 And you know there’s a Southerner in you somewhere, no? This cake is a Southern Classic! Right up there with Cheese Straws, deviled eggs and pimiento cheese… I just luv ya🙂

  4. Pingback: Amazing Carrot Cake | Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

