Oat-and-Cheddar Crackers

(Pics is from: Formaggio Kitchen)

I know, store bought crackers are easy and cheap.  These crackers are actually easy and fairly cheap as well.  They are delicious, amazingly delicious.  The funniest thing (for me) is that I found this recipe in my Food and Wine Magazine sometime last fall.  I had to make them, I just had to!  When Janine visited back in December with her mum, I was so excited and proud to tell her I was making homemade crackers.  She looks at me and says: “You mean the recipe in Food and Wine magazine? I ripped it out as well, I am making them!”  WHATEVER!  I love her but I can’t manage to surprise her anymore.  I am going to have to find some obscure magazine in some language she can’t read…Who am I kidding, we think exactly alike.  I do have to share this recipe with you guys because it is so good and a perfect match with a lovely glass of wine.

Ingredients:

1/2 cup old-fashioned rolled oats

1/4 cup milk

3/4 cup all-purpose flour

1/4 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 1/4 cups sharp cheddar cheese, shredded

2 tablespoon cold unsalted butter, cut into small pieces

1 large egg, lightly beaten

Egg wash: 1 large egg yolk lightly beaten with 1 tablespoon of milk

Demerara or Turbinado sugar (optional, I didn’t use it)

How to:

In a small bowl, combine the oats and milk and let stand until the oats soften slightly, about 5 minutes.

In a food processor, combine the flour, baking powder and salt and pulse a few times to blend.  Add the cheese and butter and pulse until a coarse meal forms. Stir the beaten egg into the softened oats, then scrape the oats into the food processor.  Pulse until a dough forms.  Scrape the dough into a large sheet of plastic wrap and gently knead a few times until thoroughly blended. Pat the dough into a disk, wrap it up and refrigerate until firm, about 1 hour.

Preheat the oven to 375F.  Line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper.  Work with half of the dough at a time: on a lightly floured work surface, dust the dough with flour.  Cover with a large sheet of plastic wrap.  Roll out the dough 1/8-inch thick.  Quickly cut the dough into 1 1/2-inch squares or stamp out different shapes.  Brush off any excess flour and transfer the squares to one of the baking sheets.  Refrigerate for at least 5 minutes, until the squares are firm.  Repeat with the second piece of dough.

this is an action shot! ;)

this is an action shot! 😉

Lightly brush the squares with the eggs wash and lightly sprinkle with sugar (if using, I tried and the taste didn’t work for us)  Bake for about 16 minutes, until the crackers are golden brown.  Transfer to a rack and let cool before serving or packaging.

So so delicious!

feel free to use any shape you like...let's be creative!

feel free to use any shape you like…let’s be creative!

Printer friendly: Oat and cheddar crackers

Note: these crackers are not the crunchy type.  They are more on the “chewy” side.

Note #2: I did try with the sugar and it was not something that seemed to work for us.  Although I love the savory & sweet combo, this one was not right (in my opinion).  But please try it with 1 or 2 crackers before baking a whole batch…you might love it!

Peace and cheese 🙂

Isabelle

4 thoughts on “Oat-and-Cheddar Crackers

  1. Pingback: Holiday Gifts & Treats. Part Two: Savory | Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

