Maple Sugar and Pecan Pie

Karma:  the force generated by a person’s actions held in Hinduism and Buddhism to perpetuate transmigration and in its ethical consequences to determine the nature of the person’s next existence.

Thank you Merriam-Webster online dictionary!


My mom always gives me all her french Canadian magazines once she is done with them.  Usually she will bring me 10 or so when she visits or she will have them ready for me when I go to Montreal.  I LOVE to read through all those magazines and find lots of great ideas.  I do miss reading and speaking French.  So, while reading one of those magazines I came across a recipe for a pie.  I kept it and put it in my “one-day-I-will-make-this” pile.

Last Saturday while “nursing” Mr. Man from his shoulder surgery we watched a LOT of TV and we came across this show about a guy named Chuck (super cute I may add). Chuck has a show on the cooking channel.  Well, when he started talking I looked at Matt and said: “what’s with the weird accent?  Where he is from?”  Matt looked at me like I was crazy.  I then said: “wow that looks like Montreal!”  That’s when the light bulb went on…and I said: “ey, do I sound like that?”  He just shook his head in disbelief.  It must be crazy being married to me…

OK so funny how karma works, Chuck actually made this pie on the show.  About an hour later I was looking for a recipe to make for a dinner party…you guessed it; I tore out HIS recipe out of my mom’s magazines.  So I made the pie: total success!  I have good Karma even if I have extreme goofiness!

Ingredients:

Store bought pie dough (half of package…you just need the “bottom” of the pie…I make no sense)

1 1/2 tablespoons flour

1 1/4 cups brown sugar

1 large egg

1/3 cup maple syrup (the real stuff, don’t even try to get out of that one)

1/2 cup heavy cream

1 cup pecan

How to:

Preheat your oven to 350F

Butter the bottom of your pie pan (I used a glass one…in case you cared).  On a floured surface, roll out your dough and place in your greased pan.  Pressing down to make sure there are no ‘air bubbles” at the bottom.  Make your sides pretty ( I am not good at it but I try).  Set aside.

In a small bowl mix your flour and your brown sugar.  Set aside. In a larger bowl (or your mixer) whip your egg.  Add your maple syrup and cream.  Blend well.  Add your flour and brown sugar mixture.  Pour your mixture in your prepared dough.  Spread your pecans on top.  I did try to make a nice pattern but I was only able to make the first row look pretty…then I gave up.  I was serving wine with dinner and I knew no one would care how it looked as long as it tasted good!

Bake in your preheated oven for 35-40 minutes.  It might look a bit jiggly (yes that’s a technical word!) but do not over bake it, otherwise it will taste burnt.  Sugar (any) will quickly take a turn for the worse!  By the way, this pie will “puff” up during baking but will “get down” while cooling (I am so full of cool technical terms…wow)

I served mine with whipped cream that I sweetened slightly with maple syrup.  So delicious!

Here is a look at my pie….it is the only photo I have because I was having fun and didn’t think to take a picture of my plate or the whipped cream….sorry

Printer Friendly: Maple Syrup and Pecan Pie

Here is where you can find Chuck: Chuck\’s Day Off

Peace and Karma,

Isabelle

7 thoughts on “Maple Sugar and Pecan Pie

  1. Hi Isabelle,

    I just wanted to see if you’d like a Babble badge for Readers’ Choice award to put on your blog (not just the nominee) as people have nominated it for Babble’s best food mom blogs of 2011. If you’re a mother (or if you have a contributor who’s a mom) and you’re interested in the badge, please email me at: hannah at babble dot com.

    Thanks,
    Hannah

  2. hi there
    must be Chuck Hughes from Garde Manger in Montreal – such a cool guy – went to an event for work last Sept and he cooked for all of the ladies ! it was charming & adorable !
    he just recently won on Iron Chef America against Bobby Flay – article in Montreal Gazette said that Bobby was not too impressed… he won with his lobster rolls, lobster risotto & lobster poutine !!!

  3. This brought back memories of Vermont where I lived one summer (many moons ago) — hear, hear for 100% pure maple syrup, and your maple flavored whipped cream idea, too!

    • This looks wonderful. Down here (in North Carolina) we make our pecan pies (pronounced “pee-can” with the accent on pee!) with Karo syrup. Or brown sugar when we want to get real fancy. I’m gonna give this pie a try!

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

