Spring Fling Pasta

I am in transition.  I see flowers, blooming trees and lovely little birds.  What should I do?  Make food to keep me in this perfect mood.  I cannot wait to have my garden vegetables ready to help me create new delicious recipes or old favorites.  Tonight I decided on a combination of both.  Truth is I am still on my “only go to the grocery store once a week kick”.  This might have a bit to do with me being like a loose cannon in a grocery store.  Imagine if I had unlimited amounts of money…wow, that would be crazy!  But I digress, I have limited time, limited money and a family to feed!

Ingredients:

1 medium zuchinni cut into thin strips (2 inches long by 1/4 inch thin)

1lb asparagus but into 2 inches pieces

1 medium onion thinly sliced

2 cups spinach roughly chopped

1 1/2 pound boneless and skinless chicken breasts cut into bite size pieces

1 teaspoon crushed red chili peppers (optional)

1 cup dry white wine (I used a sauvignon blanc…it’s worth mentioning because I only really like chardonnay!)

Splash cream (optional) about 1-2 tablespoons

Parmesan cheese for serving

1 pound cooked wholewheat pasta (you will have plenty leftover)

1/2 cup pasta water

How to:

In a large saucepan, heat 1 tablespoon olive oil and crushed peppers if using.  Add your chicken and cook until no longer pink.  You may have to do this in 2 batches.  When your chicken is cooked, set it aside and cover with foil to keep warm.  In the same pan, add 1 tablespoon olive oil and your onion.  Cook on medium heat for 3-4 minutes until soft and fragrant.  Add your zuchinni and asparagus, mix well with your onions and then add your wine.  Bring this to a gentle simmer and cover.  You are not looking to truly reduce your wine but steam your vegetables in the wine.  Cook for 5-10 minutes.  The cook time really depends on how you like your vegetables, we like ours with a bite to them, not mushy.  When your vegetables are to your liking add your chicken and mix everything well.  Add your cream, salt and pepper to taste.  Bring to a gentle boil for 2-3 minutes.  Serve over your pasta.

Here is a look:

Note: I used capellini pasta, I didn’t like it.  I would use a thicker noodle next time.  The capellini was too small and didn’t hold the sauce in my opinion.

Printer friendly: Spring Fling Pasta

Peace and spring,

Isabelle

5 thoughts on “Spring Fling Pasta

    • when you drain your pasta you keep about 1/2 cup in case your sauce gets too thick. It is the easiest and quickest way to thin out your sauce with “flavor”. And it makes the sauce “cling” to your pasta even more so.

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

