Lemon Poppy Seed Bread

Yep, another bread….maybe I should just have a bread blog.  I could make them day in and day out.  No one would be the wiser that I can actually do other things than bread.  I would be Captain Fantastic of the Bread Makers!  yikes….that’s just not healthy!

Do you like poppy seeds?  I do and every time I think of Elaine from Seinfeld.  Did you see the episode when she ate a poppy seed muffin and had to be drug tested.  That was funny.  Regardless, I still think poppy seeds are awesome.  Lemon is awesome.   Breads are awesome….

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cup all-purpose flour

1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup butter at room temperature

3/4 cup sugar

2 eggs at room temperature

1/2 cup milk

zest 1 lemon

2 tablespoon fresh lemon juice

2 heaping tablespoon poppy seeds

Lemon syrup: 1 tablespoon lemon juice with 2 teaspoons sugar

How to:

Preheat your oven to 350F

Grease a pan loaf and set aside.

In a medium bowl mix your flour, baking powder and salt.  Set aside.

In your mixer bowl cream your butter until light and fluffy.  Add your sugar and mix well.  Scraping the side of the bowl at least once.  Add your eggs one at a time, mixing well.  Add your lemon zest and juice.  Add half of your flour mixture followed by half of your milk.  Put last of flour and milk.  Add your poppy seed and mix well.  Using a spatula, clean your mixer attachment and finish the batter by hand.  Pour in your prepared pan and bake in your preheated oven for 55-60 minutes.

Meanwhile mix your lemon syrup and set aside.

After removing your bread from the oven, carefully and slowly pour your syrup on your hot bread.  Let cool at room temperature and enjoy!

Here is Matt’s piece (everything tastes better with butter!)

Mr. Man said: “great bread, very moist and delicious”.  No, I didn’t pay him to say that!  But I love him for it!

Printer friendly:  Lemon Poppy Seed Bread

Peace and poppy,

Isabelle

7 thoughts on “Lemon Poppy Seed Bread

  1. so funny! I had 14 parents here last night for a soccer meeting and I served exactly this – almost the same recipe – only a few pieces left for the kids’ lunch !! – love your blogs!
    ak

  2. Had to comment. 🙂 I love lemon poppyseed bread (and your blog!) For the past decade I had to avoid poppyseeds for the same “Seinfeld” reason — random drug tests. (I was an over-the-road truck driver!) The D.O.T. isn’t too sympathetic toward opiates in your bloodstream, even if they were from poppyseeds. Nice to enjoy them, at long last!

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

