Getting Chicks

If you want chicks don’t go to a bar, just go to Tractor Supply…OK, I know that was not a funny reference to women being chicks.  But, that’s just the way my humor gets me through the day.  My life is a circus and I am along for the ride!

Here are our little chicks, pardon the picture but they are in a “warm” environment with a red heating lamp.  Pictures don’t come out real well.

They are doing really well and seem to be making friends…I noticed a couple of bossy pants in there but I’ll give them the benefit of the doubt.  I guess in chicken world just as in our world there are leaders and followers.

Fact: chicks need LOTS of water, plenty of food and a warm place to move around.

Fact: a day in a chick’s life: eat, sleep, drink water and yep you guessed it: poop (I had to go there)

Fact: if you have teenagers and all their friends who come around wanting to look and hold chicks: you will be telling them to wash their hands a million times before they will listen.

Fact: you will need to purchase your chicks and keep them “inside” i.e. garage or barn before they can go outside in the chicken coop

Fact: chicken coops can be purchased ready made or if you like me have a handy dandy Mr. Man then he will build and they will come 🙂

Here is a great book, one Matt has read cover to cover.  Highlighted pertinent info and left on my night stand (twice) for me to read.  I think it’s a pretty book…but let’s face it, he’s read the book and he will inform me of my duties (trust me, he will) as we progress with the chicken fiesta!

Book:

You can find this and other lovely reading material on Amazon.com:  Books about chickens on Amazon

Peace and p… (I won’t say it!)

Isabelle

There is always a trouble maker…I found her:

7 thoughts on “Getting Chicks

  1. That little troublemaker’s name isn’t Isabelle, is it? 🙂 Your humor is one of the reasons I enjoy your blog so much!

    Also, I may be “lurking” for a week or two — my co-worker is having her baby TODAY! Busy, busy. (Fun times at the office, by “moi” self…)

    One last note: I LOVE getting your e-mail updates — I highly encourage EVERYONE to sign up! Go, Chicky Mama, go! 🙂

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

