Almond Saffron Cake

Just like my peanut butter and banana obsession, saffron is something I absolutely adore….problem is saffron is mighty expensive.  I have been wanting to make this cake for about 2 years.  I needed a good reason to make it.  My mother-in-law was coming over for dinner.  Good reason it is!

Menu:

Raita and Pita bread appetizer (it’s a multi cultural meal!)

Eggplant Parmesan and fresh pasta w/ BUTTER!  (see post: Eggplant Parmesan )

Garlic bread (a must)

Almond-Saffron Cake (oh! my) by Kim Sunee author of Trail of Crumbs

Ingredients:

1/3 cup milk
1 tsp saffron
2 cups all purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
pinch of salt
1 cup butter – room temperature
7 oz tube almond paste ( not marzipan)/or 8 oz can almond paste
1 cup confectioners sugar
5 large eggs
8 oz sour cream
Zest of 1 orange

How to:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Butter and flour 2 (8 inch) round cake pans and set aside.
Heat milk on medium heat, add orange zest and saffron, bring to a gentle simmer and take off heat. Let cool.

Sift flour, baking soda, salt and baking powder.

Using a stand mixer cream butter and almond paste for 5 minutes.  I cut up the almond paste to smaller pieces and added to mixer.  Add confectioners sugar and beat till fluffy.  Add in eggs, one at a time.  Add in flour and sour cream alternately.  Gently pour in saffron mixture and mix well.

Divide batter between both prepared pans and bake for 30/40 minutes, test for doneness with a cake tester.  I baked min for 40 minutes.  Serve with berries or dusted with confectioners sugar.

Here is look:

Not the best picture but it was late, I was tired and I…OK, it’s just not a good picture.  The cake on the other hand is also amazing the next day, toasted with maybe a touch of butter and a good cup of coffee!

Printer friendly: Almond Saffron Cake

Note: I found this recipe a while ago.  I sadly don’t remember where I got it.  Also, I accidentally ripped the paper at the bottom so I couldn’t figure out which magazine it was from.  So I hopped on the internet super overloaded highway and wouldn’t you know it; this lady (Kim Sunee) has been a very busy lady sharing this recipe with the entire world!  Not only was it in the magazine I found it in (which I still can’t figure out) but she shared in the NY Times (fancy), has a blog (don’t we all) and sends it to every recipe web page (I need to do stuff like that).  So, credit has been given to the lovely Kim Sunee! 🙂

Peace and Saffron,

Isabelle

7 thoughts on “Almond Saffron Cake

  1. Pingback: Almond Marzipan 11oz Can

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

