Mystery Meat Tacos

OK, it’s not mystery meat, I just didn’t want you guys to be turned off by the real name: Venison Tacos.  There I said it, take a moment to take it in…yes, I mean Bambi (well not the actual one but still…)

Cooper says: “not funny, mommy!”

Are we back on track?  Here’s the deal, you know the old saying: “when life hands you lemons make lemonade”?  No worries, my venison is not a lemon, it’s just that my father-in-law gave me 5 huge pieces of venison.  So what’s a girl to do?  At first I wanted to make a stew but since I am in my “spring” mode and not really feeling the stew motion (picture it for a second…take a moment to laugh at me…let’s continue) I thought of tacos!  So, I went on the super duper internet highway and found a few ideas for my sweet bambino. (I shouldn’t say things like that, I sound cruel)  One idea came from the Tasty Kitchen wedsite called: Venison Carne Guisada Tacos.  If all you read at the top was venison tacos, well you’re in luck – that is what I made!

I know, I know, the tacos….

Ingredients: ( loosely based on the above mentioned Tacos)

2 pound venison roast (of course you could use any meat: beef, pork, road kill….KIDDING!)

1/2 cup flour

1 medium onion diced

1 green pepper diced (go crazy and use a red, yellow or orange if you want!)

1-2 jalapenos diced

1 14-oz can diced tomatoes *not drained

1 cup vegetable broth

salt & pepper

1 tablespoon oregano

1 cup cilantro roughly chopped

1-2 tablespoon chili powder (optional and to taste)

3 garlic cloves finely diced

juice of 1/2 lime (keep other half for serving)

How to:

Dice your meat into bite size pieces, roughly 1/2-inch size.  Put in a large bowl and toss with flour.  Working in batches, brown your meat in a large pan coated with a little olive oil.   Once your meat is brown put in your crock pot.  Using the same pan (with a touch more olive oil)  add your vegetables; onions, jalapenos and green peppers.  Cook for 3-4 minutes then add your broth, tomatoes, salt, pepper, oregano, cilantro, chili powder and garlic.  Bring this to a boil.  Turn your burner off and put everything over your meat in your crock pot.  Add your lime juice and mix everything well.  Cook on high for 4-5 hours or low 8-10 hours.  The smell alone was driving me crazy and although I know it is “bad” practice to keep opening the crock pot…well, I couldn’t help myself.

Crockpot:

Serve with: sour cream, mexican rice, quacamole, chopped onion, fresh cilantro, shredded mexican cheese, salsa, hot sauce, refried beans and of course quarters of lime pieces to be perfectly squeezed over a HUGE taco! YUMMMMMMMY!

Here is a look at one:

Printer friendly:  Venison Tacos

Peace and a little mystery,

Isabelle

3 thoughts on “Mystery Meat Tacos

  1. This recipe sounds awesome! I have a quick question…did you happen to do the “on low” or “on high” version?
    I have tried venison in the crockpot before and I think I just cooked it way too long…If that is even possible right…but it was kind of dried out and tough tasting…even though it was in alot of juice. Help! I just want your opinion! I have venison in my freezer now and would love to give this recipe a try!
    ~Abigail
    abigailhutch@yahoo.com

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

