Banana Snacking Cake

Banana Snacking Cake

Please, if you are sick and tired of my banana recipes….don’t let me know 😦   You’ll break my heart!  It is only because I keep finding good stuff to share with you guys.  Oh! and I really love bananas and peanut butter!!!!!

I think Elvis had the right idea with his fried pb, banana and bacon sandwich, to me that sounds absolutely perfect.  Then again, my brother and I use to eat peanut butter on our hot dogs…did I lose you?  Hello?  Anyone out there?  Are you grossed out?  Don’t be it’s actually quite good.  I don’t eat hot dogs anymore because I saw a special on TV and you can only imagine what I saw…I’ll never eat a hot dog again…sorry Oscar Mayer that’s just the way it goes.

I found this Banana Snacking Cake recipe in my Cooking Light Magazine.  I had to try it right away.  It is quite delicious, BUT you know me (and now you know I ate hot dogs with PB) I can’t leave well enough alone.  I had to add one more banana to the recipe…I mean COME ON; only 1 banana for a whole cake…ridiculous.  I also made up a peanut butter glaze!  That’s right PEANUT BUTTER GLAZE!

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cup flour (6.75-ounces net weight to be exact)

1/3 cup sugar

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 cup plain yogurt

2 mashed bananas

1/4 cup canola oil

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 large egg, lightly beaten

Peanut butter glaze (recipe to follow)

How to;

Preheat oven to 375F

Grease or spray a 9X9 or 8X8 square baking pan (I used an 8X8) set aside.

In a large bowl mix your flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon and salt, set aside.  In another bowl mix your yogurt, mashed bananas, canola oil, vanilla, and egg.  Mix well and pour in your dry ingredients bowl.  Mix until just combined.  You will notice that the chemical reaction of the yogurt and the baking soda is taking place.  The mixture is quite “bubbly/fizzy”.  Pour into your prepared pan and bake in your preheated oven for 20-25 minutes

Cool for 10 minutes before putting on your peanut butter glaze!

The glaze

Ingredients:

2 heaping tablespoons peanut butter

2/3 cup powdered sugar

3-4 tablespoons water (I used about 3 1/2 tablespoons)

How to:

In a medium size bowl put your peanut butter and your powdered sugar, slowly add your water one tablespoon at a time until you get the consistency you desire.  When your cake is cooled place it on a serving plate (or keep it in the pan, I don’t judge) Using a toothpick poke holes in your cake…so the magically delicious glaze will soak into your cake!  Carefully pour and spread the glaze over the cake.  Take your time, this is not the Indy 500, this is pure deliciousness happening!

Serve!

Here is my piece:

moist, sweet and the glaze is simply amazing!

Printer friendly: Banana Snacking Cake & Glaze

Cooking Light: banana snacking cake

Peace and Peanut Butter,

Isabelle

Note: my recipe/post is also featured on Sweet as Sugar Cookies: Sweets for Saturday

8 thoughts on “Banana Snacking Cake

  1. OK now Jake thinks you’re weird cause I told him you used to eat pb & hot dogs LOL! but this looks like another winning recipe! Especially with that scrumptious looking glaze! Thanks

  2. Saw you on Sweets for a Saturday. This looks great! I usually just end up making banana bread, so this is a great alternative! But, since you love bananas, here’s my favorite banana bread(toward bottom of the post)with chocolate chips and maraschino cherries: http://brkruse.blogspot.com/2011/01/bananas-and-pot-pie.html. I also made blueberry banana muffins with a strusel topping recently and they were a huge hit with co-workers. mmm… bananas…

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

