Balsamic Reduction for the well read…

Confession: I tend to cook without a plan in mind.  I think up something and I just do it.  Now having this lovely blog to share with y’all (sorry, I was in Florida with my sister in law!) well, I have to write things down A LOT.  While in Florida I told Janine to make a balsamic reduction: “trust me”, I said,” it’s really easy”.  Well, truth is, I have made it before but I didn’t pay attention to what I was doing exactly.  I am not even sure I made it twice the same way, and I am pretty sure I burnt it a few times.  Needless to say when she called and said: “so how do you do it exactly?”  aaaaaah well, let me think here….I could not answer her.  She is smart and she understands cooking….she is well read!

So tonight I am making my balsamic reduction for chicken breasts.  We have been eating in restaurant way too much over spring break – so it’s time to get back in our little routine of delicious healthy homecooked meals.  This reduction is also amazingly delicious with salmon.  This will come as  no surprise that I didn’t have salmon and I am NOT going to the store today to get some.  Chicken it is!

Ingredients:

1 cup balsamic vinegar

2 tablespoons chopped fresh rosemary

1/2 teaspoon pepper

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 tablespoon of sugar

How to:

In a sauce pan put all your ingredients.  Bring to a boil and reduce to a simmer.  Cook until your vinegar has reduce by 3/4 (75%) and you have nice dark balsamic syrup.  This could take up to 15-20 minutes.   The smell (I was told very clearly by Sunshine) is extremely overwhelming as the vinegar is reducing.  I thought it smelled heavenly…what does she know!?

Cool your syrup and set aside until ready to use.

How I used mine:

I took some chicken breasts and sliced them into thin cutlets.  Marinated them in olive oil, fresh rosemary, crushed garlic, salt and pepper.  I then grilled them on the barbecue (any excuse to be outside works for me!)  I simply glazed the breasts a couple times on each side as they were cooking.  I also had a side of sliced mushrooms.  I cooked the mushrooms in a foil packet with salt, pepper and a pad of butter.  I put the mushrooms on the grill at the same time as I put the chicken breasts.

****Don’t forget to divide your reduction into 2 bowls if you are using it to baste your chicken! NO cross contamination! YUCK!

To serve, I plated my chicken on a small bed of greens, top with mushrooms and a drizzle of my reduction.  Absolutely delicious and so simple.

Here is a look:

I also use this reduction with pizza: wholewheat pizza dough,thinly sliced tomatoes, shredded chicken and parmesan cheese.  In the oven for a few minutes and then topped with arugula and drizzled with balsamic reduction…OM goodness, it is absolutely so perfect!  I will share the recipe with you soon.  I am trying out new formulas/recipes for my whole wheat pizza dough.

Printer friendly: Balsamic Reduction

Peace y’all,

Isabelle

9 thoughts on “Balsamic Reduction for the well read…

  1. This was like getting 3 recipes in one — so many delicious ideas! (LOL about having to “think” about how you made it — me, too.) By the way, that e-mail subscription thing is slick. Have a great day, Isabelle!
    ~ Kimby

    • It is simply using balsamic vinegar and reducing it until it becomes a “syrup”. Very very simple to make and you can flavor (as I did with rosemary) the vinegar with herbs. great salad dressing and glaze on fish or chicken…etc..

  2. Pingback: I’ll Take “Words That Begin With The Letter B,” Alex « a little lunch

  3. Pingback: Roasted Asparagus, Red Pepper and Goat Cheese Bruschetta « Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

