Timbale of Corn

It’s no secret that here in Indiana we love our corn.  I am always looking for a new way to prepare my summer corn.  I love corn and my favorite way to prepare it is: corn on the cob loaded with butter and herbs.  Yet in the winter months, I have to use frozen corn.  I also love to make homemade corn bread – usually when I make chili.  Although, tonight I decided to try something new:  Julia Child’s Corn Timbale.  Webster’s dictionary defines Timbale as:  a creamy mixture, as of meat or vegetables, baked in a mold.  Bottom line….a corn casserole or custard.  See, I am always here to share useless information with you guys!

Ingredients:

3 cups corn (fresh or frozen…please thaw your frozen corn)

6 eggs

2-3 tablespoons grated onion

1 teaspoon salt

4 to 5 tablespoons fresh minced parsley (I didn’t have parsley so I used basil)

2/3 cup lightly pressed down crumbs from crustless nonsweet white bread (I used a mix a of bread crumbs and panko)

2/3 cup lightly pressed down grated cheese (swiss, cheddar, mozzarela…etc..)

2/3 cup heavy cream

6 drops hot pepper sauce

fresh ground pepper

How to:

Preheat oven to 350F.

Butter an 8-cup (2-liter) baking dish and line bottom with a round of buttered wax paper.  In a mixing bowl beat your eggs then add all the rest of the ingredients listed.  Make sure your corn mixture is well blended and pour into your prepared dish.  Set your corn dish in a larger dish and pour boiling water around to come two-thirds up the sides of the corn-filled dish.  Here is a look:

Bake in your preheated oven for 30 minutes.  Reduce oven temperature to 325F bake for 1 hour more.  Check after 45 minutes.  The timbale is done when it has risen and puffs, the top has cracked open, and a skewer plunged down through the center comes out clean.  Let rest for 10 minutes.  The timbale will sink down as it cools.

Confession; this recipe is said to serve 8 people, we were only 5 for dinner, 3 of which are middle school girls.  I cut everything in half.  It worked, I didn’t want to be eating corn custard for a week! 🙂

I thought it was pretty good.  I would suggest adding 1 teaspoon of salt?  But otherwise it was good.

Printer friendly: Timbale of Corn

Peace and corn,

Isabelle

2 thoughts on “Timbale of Corn

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

