Mushrooms and Bacon Quiche

I really should call this leftover quiche.  I was craving it and I didn’t want to go back to the store.  I usually have some type of pie dough in my freezer somewhere.  I do have a great pie dough recipe but I am usually needing to use pie dough at the last minute.  I get these “bright” ideas (please note a mouthful of sarcasm here!) to make something and I just don’t have the time to make homemade dough….the reality is that  I don’t want to take the TIME to make the dough!

Ingredients:

1 store bought pie dough (thawed if frozen) 9″

3-4 slices bacon chopped

1  1/2 cups mushrooms chopped

1/2 onion chopped

2 green onions chopped

4 eggs

1 cup milk

1/2 cup heavy cream

1 cup shredded cheese (I used swiss because that’s all I had)

1 teaspoon fresh thyme finely chopped

1 teaspoon fresh rosemary finely chopped

salt and pepper(1 teaspoon each)

How to:

Preheat your oven to 350F

Roll out your dough into a 9-inch pie plate.  Set aside.

In a large pan, cook your bacon until crunchy but not burnt.  Set aside to cool.  Using the same pan, remove all but 1 tablespoon of your bacon fat.  Put your onion, mushrooms and green onions in your pan.  Cook on medium heat until translucent, 4-5 minutes.  Turn off your burner and let this cool down while you get your egg mixture together.

In a large bowl mix your eggs, milk, cream, cheese, herbs, salt and pepper.  Blend well. Set aside.

Put your cooled bacon at the bottom of your pie dough.  Top with your onions and mushroom mixture.  Carefully pour your egg mixture over your vegetables and bacon.

Put in your preheated oven for 40-45 minutes.  Remove from the oven and let your quiche set for 5 minutes before cutting it.

Serve.  I love to have a fresh salad with a tart vinaigrette, I think the contrast is perfect with the eggs.

Printer friendly: Mushrooms and Bacon Quiche

Peace and quiche,

Isabelle

Note: my recipe is also featured on Real Sustenance: Seasonal Sunday

Note #2: also featured on Delightfully Dowling: Mangia Mondays

13 thoughts on “Mushrooms and Bacon Quiche

  1. Good morning, Isabelle 🙂 This sounds real good. I’m gonna give it a try…I wonder if Colby jack would work:/ I’m visiting your blog at 4 am, Imagine That! Insomnia strikes again 🙂 Enjoy your Monday!

  2. Oh yummm, when I get some bacon (I have jarred mushrooms) and a two fer frozen pie crust. Buy the way, what kind did you use for this, it looks very good and home made. I still have the broken wrist, so it makes for a wonderful excuse to not roll out pie dough. I used to always use a recipe for Pate Brisee that I got very many years ago out of “The Joy Of Cooking”. It is a good one, but like you, it needs to be refrigerated for a few hours and I never seem to be organized enough to plan ahead for my crave it now happenings. Plus, I am lousy at rolling pie dough…. plus I have a grand fur boy kitty that would be trying to walk over it as I rolled it out.

  3. Hey, i was just wondering and making sure, is the bacon cooked? I am pretty sure it is but you didn’t say and I wanted to make sure. Thank you so much for a delicious sounding and looking recipe…:)

  4. Pingback: Mushrooms And Bacon Quiche « Food Frenzy

  5. Pingback: Roasted Cauliflower Soup « Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

