Julia Child’s Homemade Noodles

I make a lot of homemade noodles.  So in this “first” installment I decided to go back to a classic.  To be completely honest, I have rarely tried a recipe or way to make fresh pasta that I didn’t like….I mean it’s pasta…it’s all good!  But I want to show you a simple and classic way.

This recipe uses a food processor, simple.  It uses a noodle cutting machine.  Mine is an attachment on my mixer.  It wasn’t cheap but I make fresh pasta often so it was well worth the money.  Oh yeah and my mom (and dad) gave it to me for my birthday!  Thanks mom and dad!  You could also use a hand crank pasta machine (that sounded weird…).

Ingredients:

1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour

2 large eggs

2 to 4 tablespoons cold water

In your food processor, add all ingredients to the machine, using 2 tablespoons water, and process (using metal-cutting blade). In about a minute, if you have enough water (which depends on the weather), the dough should form itself into a ball on top of the blade.  (Today I had to use 3 tablespoons water).  Sometimes the dough will not form a mass but seem to be made up of granular particles; however, as long as you can squeeze it into a coherent mass when removed from the food processor, all is well.  Turn dough out onto work surface and knead together to blend. Dough should be firm; if soft and/or sticky, knead in a sprinkling of flour. (this was Julia talking)

You may prep your dough ahead of time.  I like to let mine rest before I cut it.  If you plan on doing that, wrap your dough in plastic wrap and put in your refrigerator until ready to use. You will need to let it rest at room temperature for 30 minutes before you start cutting it if it was in the refrigerator.

Here is the dough:

Sprinkle some corn meal or semolina flour on a baking sheet and set aside.

To make you noodles, cut your dough in half or quarter.  Keep the rest of your pasta under cover while you work.  Make sure your counter or work station is very well floured, I like to keep a cup full of flour near by.  Start by using the largest setting on your pasta machine, usually #8 (mine is #1…8 is the thinnest).  Run your pasta through several times before setting a smaller #.  Folding it every time before you put it through again.  You will feel your pasta getting smoother.  When you get to your lowest setting your may cut your pasta by hand with a knife or use the “style” you prefer.  I like to use the linguine/fettucine cutter.  When I have a handful of fresh-cut pasta, I make a little nest and put it on my baking sheet to dry or use the hanging method, using either a broom stick or wooden spoons…either way let them dry!

The noodles may be used the same day or freeze them for a later use.  I usually freeze mine directly on the baking sheet.  (make sure they are dry first)  Once the noodles are frozen I transfer them to a plastic bag.  Try to use them within a month of freezing, they will taste better.

Here is a look:

In the “machine”:

Folding between running your pasta through the machine:

Nest: 

Hanging:

When cooking your noodles, add plenty of salt to your boiling water.  Fresh noodles should only cook for 5-6 minutes.

So delicious!  I used mine last night for spaghetti and meatballs.  YUMMY!

Printer friendly: Julia Child’s Homemade Pasta

Peace and Cranked Pasta (how bizarre!),

Isabelle

5 thoughts on “Julia Child’s Homemade Noodles

  1. This looks yummm! love your pasta machine.. Would love to have one such machine at my kitchen – with all the fascination we Indians have with different kinds of flat breads 🙂

  2. Oh,Isabelle — those noodles look SO GOOD! (When can we expect the “Isabelle and Julia” movie sequel??? 🙂

    My kids used to call my noodles “2 x 4’s” because I rolled them out by hand — but fat homemade noodles are better than no noodles at all! I’ll have to do some research on your marvelous machine. 🙂

  3. Julia Child still is the best! The DVD’s contain many, many of the secrets to French cooking that only can otherwise be found by purchasing many books and watching hours and hours of the Food Channel. The examples and visual images are excellent.

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

