Asparagus and Parmesan Salad

Asparagus and Parmesan Salad

Asparagus and Parmesan Salad

There are some recipes that we go back to over and over again.  It might be a family tradition or simply just a good tasty dish we just can’t get enough of.  This is the case for this recipe.  I found it in a Country Home magazine back in March 2003.  I made it right away and it became a family favorite.  It is quite simple to make, can be made ahead of time, it’s healthy and pretty.  That’s a lot of positive for just one recipe.

Note: I tried to find a link online but I wasn’t successful.  I’ll keep trying and add it on asap.

Ingredients:

1 lb green and/or white asparagus

3 tablespoons olive oil

1 tablespoon lemon juice

1 teaspoon chopped fresh thyme or basil (I used thyme this time…ha ha ha)

1/4 teaspoon Dijon mustard

1 garlic clove finely chopped

salt and pepper

Parmesan cheese for topping

How to:

Place asparagus in a steamer basket.  Place basket in a large skillet over boiling water.  Reduce heat; cover and steam for 5 to 7 minutes or until asparagus is crisp-tender.  Remove from steamer and cool slightly.

Meanwhile, for dressing, in a medium bowl combine olive oil, lemon juice, thyme or basil, mustard, garlic, salt and pepper.  Using a whisk or fork blend all ingredients well.  Arrange asparagus on serving platter and drizzle with dressing.  Sprinkle with parmesan cheese.  Cover with plastic wrap and put in refrigerator until ready to serve.

I like to make this early in the day.  I find that the asparagus really take on the lovely flavor of the dressing.  When I am ready to serve, I simply toss them around in the dressing one more time and top with a little more parmesan.

so pretty you can make it with two different types of asparagus....go wild!  ;)

so pretty you can make it with two different types of asparagus….go wild!😉

 

Printer friendly: Asparagus and Parmesan Salad

Peace and dressing,

Isabelle

Note my recipe is also feature on Coupon Cookin’: Tasty Traditions

8 thoughts on “Asparagus and Parmesan Salad

  1. Pingback: 7 Facts about my Blog « Isabelle at home

  2. I missed this the first time around, too — so glad you posted it again! LOVELY pics. Now I wish asparagus was in season again — but it gives me something to look forward to next spring!

  3. Isabelle, Definitely going to try this sometime. Love asparagus. Great blog!
    It was so nice meeting you and your husband last night.

    Could not find you Pinterest page.

  4. Pingback: Summertime Salads | Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

