Oatmeal Raisin Cookies/I am sorry cookies!

I woke up on the wrong side of the bed.  I wasn’t very sweet…not very customer friendly as I call it.  I don’t know why, I just was grumpy.  Matt wasn’t, he was nice and sweet and lovely.  He had just gotten home from the Firehouse, was home for 1 hour and quickly left for extra work…on a Sunday 😦

Man, do I feel like a jerk.  Before he left he did point out a post on the Tasty Kitchen Website a recipe about oatmeal something….I wasn’t paying attention, because I was busy being a jerk.  But I did hear him say: “Oatmeal raisin cookies really are my favorite”.  I heard THAT!  I am making them, I need to not be this person.  I am sorry.

I came up with this recipe with him in mind, so he would love the cookies and think I am still super duper awesome! 😉

Ingredients:

3/4 cup flour

1/2 cup wholewheat flour

2 1/2 cups quick oats

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon cinnamon

3/4 cup butter (room temperature)

1 cup brown sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 egg

1 1/2 cup raisins

How to:

Preheat your oven to 350F

Line your baking sheets with parchment paper or silpat. Put aside.

In a large bowl mix your flours, quick oats, salt, baking soda and cinnamon.  Set aside.

In a medium bowl put your raisins and pour 1 cup of hot water over them.  Let this sit for 1-2 minutes. NO MORE, it will be a mushy mess.  Drain very well.  Set aside.

In your mixer, cream your butter with your brown sugar.  Add your egg and vanilla, blend well.

Add your dry ingredients to your wet.  Blend well and add your raisins.  Put on your prepared baking sheets by the spoonful. Using a fork or your fingers (clean, please!) press down on your cookies, to flatten them a little bit. (see picture)  Bake in your preheated oven for 10-12 minutes.  Cool for a few minutes.  Enjoy!

Before the oven…and flattened a little bit!

And a little plate full of delicious moist cookies:

Printer friendly: Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Have a sweet day and remember: play well with others!

Peace and NOT grumpy,

Isabelle

3 thoughts on “Oatmeal Raisin Cookies/I am sorry cookies!

  1. So delicious and homey looking. I think this is the perfect way to say, “I’m sorry”. Good for you…so often we don’t admit when we were grumpy but admitting it is the first step. 🙂 Now figuring out how to eliminate it is a mystery to me…if you solve this problem, please let me know. I’ve been a bit grumpy myself lately. My husband’s favorite cake might be on the horizon.

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

