Key Lime Bread

Key Lime Bread

Key Lime Bread

I think you guys are either really tired of the breads I keep making or you just think I am obsessed.  I do love breads!  I have this cookbook that Mr. Man and I bought during one of our lovely trip to Islamorada: Key Lime Cookin’.  It is not a very big cookbook but all the recipes are so delicious.  We also love Key Lime juice.  Fortunately for us, we can buy it by the “bottle” at our local grocery store.  Mind you it is in the “cocktail” area/juice area.  Safe to assume, they want you to make either a frozen margaritas or mojitos but I have other plans!  Mr. Man says this is INCREDIBLE!

When I saw this recipe, I thought right away that it should taste a bit like key lime pie and pound cake.  I wasn’t disappointed.  To celebrate I had both a margarita and a mojito….just kiddin’ I don’t drink rum so I skipped the mojito and had 2 margaritas.

Ingredients: (adapted from Key lime Cookin’)

1/3 cup butter

1 cup sugar

2 eggs (mine large)

2 tablespoons key lime juice (or lime juice)

1 tablespoon lime zest (1 lime or 2 key limes)

3/4 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 1/2 cup all-purpose flour

1 1/4 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup milk

1/2 cup walnuts or pecans (optional)

Glaze:

4 tablespoons key lime juice

3 tablespoons sugar

1 tablespoon key lime zest

How to:

Grease your loaf pan and set aside.

Preheat your oven to 350F

In a medium bowl mix your flour, baking powder and salt. Set aside.

Cream your butter and sugar.  Add your eggs and beat well.  add your key lime, zest and vanilla, combine well.  Add 1/2 of your milk.  Do not overmix.  Add 1/2 of your flour mixture.  Last 1/2 of your milk and finally the rest of your flour mixture.  If adding walnuts or pecans mix, add and mix with a wooden spoon. Pour into your prepared pan.  Cook in your preheated oven for 1 hr., checking after 45 minutes.

Meanwhile mix your key lime juice, zest and sugar and set aside until bread comes out of the oven.  Sometimes I will microwave this for 30 secs to make sure the sugar is dissolved. When your bread is ready, slowly… very slowly spoon your glaze over your bread and let this cool for 15 minutes.  I also like to poke holes in my bread with a toothpick so the glaze seeps into the bread…yummy!

so perfectly yummilicious!

so perfectly yummilicious!

I wish the picture could show how moist this bread is.  Perfect combination of tart, sweet and yumminest. (that’s a word!)

Printer friendly: Key Lime Bread

Peace and OMGoodness it’s another bread,

Isabelle

by the way here is the link to the cookbook we bought in Islamorada, Fl. The author has a web site: Joyce LaFray

***my recipe is also featured on Real Sustenance: Seasonal Sunday

***also featured on Delightfully Dowling: Mangia Mondays

6 thoughts on “Key Lime Bread

  1. sign me up for a slice of that bread & two margaritas, too! 😀

    the bread looks amazing! and my hubs loves anything made with key limes…

    thanks for linking up to mangia mondays!

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

